New Topic Respond to this Topic
killwerty
killwerty
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Feb. 12th, 2009 @ 02:25 PM Reply

Im kinda new to all this, but the 6000 is 3Ghz but the 7750 BE is only 2.75Ghz. Doesnt that mean it's slower?

PolishMatt
PolishMatt
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Level 29
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew Feb. 12th, 2009 @ 03:21 PM Reply

At 2/12/09 01:11 PM, killwerty wrote: Ive tried booting with the floppy drive taken out, with both optical drives out, but the same thing keeps happening. Got any ideas? A friend told me that it's probably the mobo so what do u think of this one if i need to get a new one? (the processor is a pentium 4 and needed replacing anyway).

Do some research. There is always a lost of information when it's transferred through a multitude of people, most importantly the finer details that might actually add up and become very significant. Buying a kit from a site or store typically offers terrible hardware that is un-proportional to one another and is selling bad. Newegg.com offers some of the best deals online so you should use it if you're going to build a computer. Here are some guide lines (From my recommendation) to follow in the pursue of a high performing, yet affordable computer:

CPU - Go Intel
(Less problems having to compare AMD with it, as they're two different techs and AMD isn't the greatest, IMO)

CPU (Again) - Stick to the 'Core 2 Duo' family
(High performance, affordable, very recent (aside from the i7, which requires odd hardware and is a bit confusing))

HHD - 1TB WesternDigital is king
(I don't know your needs, but it never hurts to be future proof. They're also dead cheap and have the best Buck:GBs ratio)

RAM - 2x 2GB 800/1066 RAM DIMMS from Corsair are very reliable
(RAM is another piece of hardware that is dead cheap now (20$?), and it adds shit loads of performance to any computer)