00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

sdrogotime99 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

3d Artists Over Here!!!

112,379 Views | 1,138 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Response to 3d Artists Over Here!!! 2008-05-18 05:02:46

Final Zone from Sonic 1. It's not much to look at now but I'm still learning. (I hope I included the picture correctly. If not I'll try the img tag.)

3d Artists Over Here!!!

Response to 3d Artists Over Here!!! 2008-05-18 14:33:49

Hey JDS you on ZBC?

3d Artists Over Here!!!

Response to 3d Artists Over Here!!! 2008-05-18 15:44:43

At 5/18/08 02:33 PM, kylehj wrote: Hey JDS you on ZBC?

yeh my username is James Schmitt

Response to 3d Artists Over Here!!! 2008-05-19 02:28:50

At 5/8/08 12:29 PM, J-D-S wrote: quick update

Not that I'm anyone to criticize but the hat looks too soft and "plush" to me, if you know what I mean, and unrealistic in comparison with the guy.

The face, though; Photorealistic.

My only "doubt", per se, about your incredible works, is that all of them are gaunt and emaciated -- in almost every example, their muscular structures and tendons seem to nearly pop out of their skins, as if they're being strained to the the limit.

While this is very effective in certain dramatic circumstances (to show a great strain on the body, for example) it seems almost like it's a technique that's being overused. Perhaps this is a limitation of the program you're using; I wouldn't know as I've never been able to accomplish anything even remotely passable in terms of 3D art.

I just feel like the characters would coincide more closely with reality, if you would tone down the definition on the muscles & tendons in places like the neck and clavicle area.

But other than that, it would be an understatement to say I'm impressed.

BBS Signature