Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 472,437 Views
  • 6,767 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Kilkila
Kilkila
  • Member since: Oct. 22, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-14 08:00:52 Reply

At 7/13/05 06:28 AM, WarpZone wrote: Is there a good set of areophone samples availible for Fruityloops? I seem to have plenty of drums and strings here in my default samples folder, but no wind insturments that I can see, outside of some chiors and one big brass hit...

It sounds like what you want might not be a sample, but it could be a generator. This is like the 3xOsc or TS404- a program that uses a number of oscillators to generate a pitch with a certain quality and tone. Try looking in the "Channel Presets" folder for your wind instruments. Either that, or you could customize the 3xOsc to give you the sound that you want.

Lemme know if this works for ya.

Whirlguy
Whirlguy
  • Member since: Oct. 21, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 30
Animator
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-14 13:31:38 Reply

At 6/29/05 06:49 PM, Dizfunktion wrote: With FL Studio 4, I'm trying to make fading in and fading out on instruments or channels or whatever. How do I do this? ( i guess on the timeline)

do you mean an instrument which fades in and out while being played or just a fade in out on the begin on the song, you have many posibilies with that you know..


BBS Signature
FireOnAMatch
FireOnAMatch
  • Member since: Apr. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-14 15:14:35 Reply

I need help making good long techno, trance music that actually sounds good. Most of the stuff I submit don't get noticed and aren't that good.

First could you tell me where all the cool meters are, and where to finds them?

Secondly, could you tell me where all the cool props are, and how do I get levels, and grooves to work?

Thanks so much in advance, I would really appreciate it. :)

HydraulicCat
HydraulicCat
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-14 15:42:49 Reply

When I playing with the keyboard so when its recording, its recording very bad
and some of the sounds too short or long, and before im recording so all the sounds are fine.

Why?

HydraulicCat
HydraulicCat
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-14 15:44:56 Reply

At 6/29/05 06:49 PM, Dizfunktion wrote: With FL Studio 4, I'm trying to make fading in and fading out on instruments or channels or whatever. How do I do this? ( i guess on the timeline)

Hey! its you! Dizfunktion! Remember me? you sent me an email about the kat krew sumthing. to ariels111@walla.co.il.

Whirlguy
Whirlguy
  • Member since: Oct. 21, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 30
Animator
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-14 16:03:41 Reply

At 7/14/05 03:42 PM, HidraolicCat wrote: When I playing with the keyboard so when its recording, its recording very bad
and some of the sounds too short or long, and before im recording so all the sounds are fine.

Why?

because the sync is a bit later:(


BBS Signature
HydraulicCat
HydraulicCat
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-14 16:32:53 Reply

At 7/14/05 04:03 PM, Whirlguy wrote:
At 7/14/05 03:42 PM, HidraolicCat wrote: When I playing with the keyboard so when its recording, its recording very bad
and some of the sounds too short or long, and before im recording so all the sounds are fine.

Why?
because the sync is a bit later:(

Is there a way to fix it?

Whirlguy
Whirlguy
  • Member since: Oct. 21, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 30
Animator
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-14 17:33:22 Reply

At 7/14/05 04:32 PM, HidraolicCat wrote: Is there a way to fix it?

ive never found out how... maybe because ive never tried. But that was because i didnt think there would be a way to fix it, but if you do, let me know if you manage to find out:)


BBS Signature
HydraulicCat
HydraulicCat
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 15
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-14 17:46:33 Reply

At 7/14/05 05:33 PM, Whirlguy wrote:
At 7/14/05 04:32 PM, HidraolicCat wrote: Is there a way to fix it?
ive never found out how... maybe because ive never tried. But that was because i didnt think there would be a way to fix it, but if you do, let me know if you manage to find out:)

k :)

Chief-Tank
Chief-Tank
  • Member since: Oct. 13, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-15 00:19:31 Reply

I'm not sure if this was asked yet because, frankly, I'm too lazy to look through them all.

How do I make a Gate Effect?

Dranser18
Dranser18
  • Member since: Jul. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-16 07:51:52 Reply

im new so dont get anoyed if i ask this but.....how can i get EXP points?

jarrydn
jarrydn
  • Member since: Jul. 15, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Artist
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-16 07:55:05 Reply

Wrong place to ask buddy ;D

But regardless, it looks like you already know how to get EXP...you've already got 30 points :P

many-monkeys
many-monkeys
  • Member since: Mar. 26, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-16 10:00:54 Reply

simple question how comes i can only play the patterns not whole songs when i click on song it dosnt play anything help me please!


I am goldenrodzen. Look at my works, ye mighty and despair.

many-monkeys
many-monkeys
  • Member since: Mar. 26, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 11
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-16 10:04:20 Reply

At 7/16/05 07:55 AM, jarrydn wrote: Wrong place to ask buddy ;D

But regardless, it looks like you already know how to get EXP...you've already got 30 points :P

you start with 30 dont you???


I am goldenrodzen. Look at my works, ye mighty and despair.

f2x1
f2x1
  • Member since: Jul. 13, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-16 10:18:39 Reply

At 7/16/05 10:00 AM, many_monkeys wrote: simple question how comes i can only play the patterns not whole songs when i click on song it dosnt play anything help me please!

Did you set patterns in the play list?

Kilkila
Kilkila
  • Member since: Oct. 22, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-18 03:58:32 Reply

At 7/15/05 12:19 AM, Chief_Tank wrote: I'm not sure if this was asked yet because, frankly, I'm too lazy to look through them all.

How do I make a Gate Effect?

Here's a simple way to make a gate effect, taken from the tutorial section of Fruity Loops 3.5.6:

1. Create the instrument you want to be gated, i.e. SimSynth, then create a 3xOsc channel. Set them to separate FX channels (for example's sake, 1 and 2 respectively. REMEMBER THIS!)
2. Set a Peak Controller on FX Channel 2. (Or whatever channel you put 3xOsc on)
3. Create a rhythm that sounds good with the 3xOsc. Please note, 3xOsc is not the instrument you are gating, so you don't need to worry about a melody. Just create a cool rhythm.
4. Now, with the SimSynth, create your melody. This is the sound that will be gated. I suggest long chords, not choppy lead lines. The effect is more noticable on chords.
5. Right-click on the volume control for your SimSynth. Select "link to controller." Go to "Input," and select the option for "Peak controller- Peak + LFO." Make sure it's the Peak Controller found in the FX Channel assigned to the 3xOsc.
6. Lastly, open up said Peak Controller. Find the button in the lower right-hand corner called "mute" and turn it ON. This will prevent any sound coming from the 3xOsc. Adjust the Peak and LFO options to where you like 'em, and..... voila! A nice series of gated chords!

Try experimenting with various controls to get different effects!

(This is only one way to make a gate effect. There are multiple other ways, too complex to explain here. Just goof around some with the controls of the generators and you should be able to figure it out on your own.)

Lemme know how it goes!

Kilkila
Kilkila
  • Member since: Oct. 22, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-18 04:11:34 Reply

At 7/14/05 03:14 PM, Inuyfan1 wrote: I need help making good long techno, trance music that actually sounds good. Most of the stuff I submit don't get noticed and aren't that good.

First could you tell me where all the cool meters are, and where to finds them?

Secondly, could you tell me where all the cool props are, and how do I get levels, and grooves to work?

Thanks so much in advance, I would really appreciate it. :)

You don't need meters or levels. (Grooves help sometimes.) What you need is actual passion in your music. You've got to start with a good rhythm! A good backbeat, then add a bassline, melody, supporting parts... I listened to some of your stuff, and you've got potential. You probably just need more practice.

My advice? Start with the basics of music composition. Pick up a how-to book or something like it on music composition. After all, trance is music... Second, listen to a lot of trance and techno- this allows you to hear what sounds good and gather ideas. Then just practice a lot, as experimentation is the key! Music can't be learned in a day. And forget about grooves and levels and meters until you feel comfortable laying down beats and melodies.

Good luck! I'll be watching for new stuff from ya.

Whirlguy
Whirlguy
  • Member since: Oct. 21, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 30
Animator
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-18 19:02:43 Reply

hmmm maybe i should experiment more with the effect to get synths more trancier. and play with the plugins more. You people got me motivated!


BBS Signature
FireOnAMatch
FireOnAMatch
  • Member since: Apr. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-18 21:42:46 Reply

Why won't the AP let me submit any songs larger than like a min?
Here is the song, it's called Urban Jams, and I think I will add to it, but tell me what you think.

"C:\Program Files\FLStudio\Data\Projects\urbanjam1.mp3
"

FireOnAMatch
FireOnAMatch
  • Member since: Apr. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-18 21:50:48 Reply

I think this link would work......

C:\Program Files\FLStudio\Data\Projects

Mogly
Mogly
  • Member since: Sep. 5, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 25
Animator
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-19 11:09:59 Reply

(sorry if this has been asked already)

i have FL Studio 5 Demo, when i export a loop it carries on until all the sounds have stopped completly, so they dont loop. how do i stop this?


WEBSITE
BLOG ~ Dont fuck around with my dog. All that I can see I steal. ~
NG FFR ~ Automatic for the people.

BBS Signature
Kilkila
Kilkila
  • Member since: Oct. 22, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-20 04:59:55 Reply

At 7/19/05 11:09 AM, mogly wrote: (sorry if this has been asked already)

i have FL Studio 5 Demo, when i export a loop it carries on until all the sounds have stopped completly, so they dont loop. how do i stop this?

The problem lies in how you're exporting what's called the loop's "remainder." This is that tail that forms the un-ending oh-so-lovable loop that trance, dance, and all things rhythmic love. Check around your screen for options dealing with the remainder. If you mouse-over the remainder options FL Studio should tell you what it does right underneath the menu bar (you know, file, edit, help... etc.) You want something that causes the sound to loop again- pick whatever option sounds closest to it.

I'm afraid I can't offer more help than that. I've always just exported whole songs, not loops. Lemme know if it works for ya.

Peace

Cpt-Nemo
Cpt-Nemo
  • Member since: Nov. 28, 2000
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-21 13:40:08 Reply

I am having a problem with something in my FL song . Sorry for the retarded file name...

The problem is that the LFO I have set in mixer track 15 is somehow fucking up the snare sound which is not linked. Is this just my software or does anyone have the same problem with my file and if so, how the fuck do I fix it? I pretty new to FL, so I could just be making some retarded mistake.

While I am at it though, let me ask something else. How do you get the LFO to work in the Peak Controller from the default settings anyhow? I've just been using settings from the tutorial files that came with the software, but when I twist the knobs from the default setting I can't, for the life of me, get the LFO meter to move. I hope someone can helpm e remedy this problem.

Cpt-Nemo
Cpt-Nemo
  • Member since: Nov. 28, 2000
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-21 13:43:24 Reply

Actually nevermind because somehow it erased all my mixer effects, so its fucked to hell anyways...thanks to anyone who tried, but then got massively confused.

Whirlguy
Whirlguy
  • Member since: Oct. 21, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 30
Animator
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-07-22 08:36:13 Reply

i found out what t is, its something with the fruity lp on the master turn it off, and try using something else for the effect you wanted to create


BBS Signature
Walril-Darkeyes
Walril-Darkeyes
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-08-08 16:03:16 Reply

I dunno if I can place this in this Forum (dunno if there are rules against it) But all you music makers out there try Soulseek if you want to get alot of samples fast and good , Lots of good DJ's use Soulseek to interract with one another too so you can ask for help there too :) Its totally legit and free

Sty1ez
Sty1ez
  • Member since: Aug. 14, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-08-15 02:15:49 Reply

What kinda things can I do with that little space under the pattern grid I dont have a manual and I kinda found the full version online

Gobu
Gobu
  • Member since: Jul. 11, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-08-15 16:50:42 Reply

ive tried using fruity loops and end up coming up with a drum beat and thats it, can you not get anything other than drums in this thing? if so explain?

Always-Dark
Always-Dark
  • Member since: Apr. 17, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 16
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-08-15 21:11:41 Reply

ok, ive had this on my mind for some time now...What's the fruity granulizer and ReWIRE?

-Allen

MackerelSalad
MackerelSalad
  • Member since: Jun. 22, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2005-08-27 06:57:33 Reply

At 8/15/05 04:50 PM, Gobu wrote: ive tried using fruity loops and end up coming up with a drum beat and thats it, can you not get anything other than drums in this thing? if so explain?

u can do anything with FL
firstly per example go to the browser (in the top right of screen there are a couple of buttons, that should switch it on
click on packs and you see a lot of different sounds that you can drag in the step sequencer
u can also try plugins (right click on one of the sounds in the step sequencer and select insert channel, then per example click on FL Slayer, now u have really cool guitar)
see


BBS Signature