Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 490,675 Views
  • 6,766 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-14 22:49:23 Reply

I would very much like to Creat Ambient or Trance music. How would I go about doing that in Fruity Loops? The effects and stuff or what ever. >: ( It's been like a year since I used FL, I forget everything

Unbrekable
Unbrekable
  • Member since: Sep. 6, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-14 22:52:27 Reply

At 4/14/06 10:49 PM, Mac-Beth wrote: I would very much like to Creat Ambient or Trance music. How would I go about doing that in Fruity Loops? The effects and stuff or what ever. >: ( It's been like a year since I used FL, I forget everything

First, Set if you have your bases already (like... you know your stuff a bit) Then set up your drums and bases, then go and get a "Pad" instrument. So it's like wavy, and not precise, prefect for your uses. Then go ahead and play with that. If you need more precision feel free to contact me i'll help you.


You think you've seen the Internet? My previous Newgrounds banner was my Myspace page.

Unbrekable
Unbrekable
  • Member since: Sep. 6, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-14 22:56:42 Reply

At 4/12/06 04:14 AM, natemasterbates wrote: Me=Newb

where can i find some free Electric guitar loops? i looked everywhere (the first 2 pages of google search) but the only ones i find cost money.

They are kinda hard to find... try to get them from songs here maybe, but it's really useful to know how to do them yourself... or use some that they give with Fl studio :(


You think you've seen the Internet? My previous Newgrounds banner was my Myspace page.

gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-14 23:05:50 Reply

At 4/14/06 10:52 PM, D3C4r7 wrote:
First, Set if you have your bases already (like... you know your stuff a bit) Then set up your drums and bases, then go and get a "Pad" instrument. So it's like wavy, and not precise, prefect for your uses. Then go ahead and play with that. If you need more precision feel free to contact me i'll help you.

Oh my! Thank you very much!

BLACKNOISE
BLACKNOISE
  • Member since: Aug. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-14 23:31:32 Reply

At 4/14/06 10:52 PM, D3C4r7 wrote: First, Set if you have your bases already (like... you know your stuff a bit) Then set up your drums and bases, then go and get a "Pad" instrument. So it's like wavy, and not precise, prefect for your uses. Then go ahead and play with that. If you need more precision feel free to contact me i'll help you.

Good, but you failed to explain the purpose of all of the main essentials of electronic music >:(

In nearly every song, there is percussion. Theres different styles of percussion, and for trance/techno, the percussion is ment to be a steady 4 beat, with flow in it. No 4 beat, it feels unfinished, and no flow, and its very unapealing(SP?). As for ambient, percussion doesn't really matter. Its about relxation, if you choose to have percussion, make it subtle. Unless you like it loud, then be my guest.

The bassline is usualy what drives the song. Some say its the melody, others say the pad, and yet others say the drums. All of those contribute, but what is one of the only instruments playing in the song? The bass. What adds a hell of a lot of rythym in both ambient AND trance? Bass. The bass makes everything melodic, so never brush the bass off and make a cheap bass synth, or make it unmelodic or something that would ruin the song.

The melody, in either ambient or trance, can or cannot exist. Yes, trance builds up to something, and it needs something to top it off, but the melody always doesn't need to be there. The irst trance songs ever made were repeitious patterns playing with no melody, and if you listened, the song told a story, or so it seemed. If you have a melody, make it powerful. If you don't, make the rest of the song count.
Ambient melodies... err... if anything, most melodies in ambient are all mistakes, and completely unintenional. That, unless, you choose to have a melodic, yet subtle, melody. Keep it smooth though, as is the purpose of ambient.

D3C4r7 said that you should HAVE to play around with a pad. Now, the purpose of a pad is nearly for the same reason that the bassline is there, only that it isn't as nessecary. If the song sounds empty, then add a pad to fill up the empty spaces and make it seem more firm.
Now you migt be asking what a pad is.
A pad is any instrument that goes on for a long time, and fills space, and is subtle. Electonic phased synths, orchaestras, deep basses, all qualify as pads.
Its also a good idea to make the pad follow the bassline, but if you think it sounds better otherwise, then go with it.

There, that should help you out, Mac-Beth.


I'm Zenon. Stop giving me those weird looks when I have a different name :'(
And I'm submitting music on THIS account now! Check it out instead of on "ZENON" :O

BBS Signature
TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-15 11:42:52 Reply

does fruity loops have a decent piano sound i checked the 3x Osc...none there and the synths and sytruses and none there where is the damn piano!!! (oh i found a bunch of piano sound things but they sound like the piano setting you'd get off a keyboard)


BBS Signature
gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-15 12:57:22 Reply

Much freaking love to you Z3N0N! <3333333 That was very detailed. <333

Feral-Fox
Feral-Fox
  • Member since: Sep. 7, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-16 00:08:15 Reply

At 4/15/06 11:42 AM, TJA wrote: does fruity loops have a decent piano sound i checked the 3x Osc...none there and the synths and sytruses and none there where is the damn piano!!! (oh i found a bunch of piano sound things but they sound like the piano setting you'd get off a keyboard)

Try Plugin Presets > Genorators > Fl Keys

gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-16 13:07:52 Reply

How would I slice something?

Feral-Fox
Feral-Fox
  • Member since: Sep. 7, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-16 16:06:26 Reply

There are a few ways.
Simplest is to use fruityslicer.

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

gr0ss
gr0ss
  • Member since: Jun. 28, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-16 17:52:18 Reply

May I ask what a VST is or a VSTi?

Feral-Fox
Feral-Fox
  • Member since: Sep. 7, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-16 20:31:43 Reply

its like a plugin.

Bluntly, its a vurtual instrament.

Shanetheguy
Shanetheguy
  • Member since: Feb. 3, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 12
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-17 02:07:22 Reply

how does the vocoder work, and how can i put my own sounds in the program....like my voice

JesusSaves
JesusSaves
  • Member since: Dec. 2, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-20 18:28:36 Reply

Fading in and out...how is it done?

R00ts
R00ts
  • Member since: Oct. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-20 18:35:14 Reply

Automation clips set to the volume knobs of either an instrument, and FX track, or the master volume.Right click on the desired know, select create automation clip. Then go to the playlist, and below the pattern sequencer click once in the box below, which looks somewhat similar. A controller is created. Deselect the controller by right clicking next to the controller, then drag the upper right hand side of the controller to the desured length, select the top to move it into position, then inside the controller right click to creat the desired volume path. You can figure everything else out from there. Alternatively, some audio apps offer this as a preset option, but that is post rendering, less capable, and I don't know which ones do that.

TumbleWeedPro
TumbleWeedPro
  • Member since: Mar. 16, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-21 16:35:16 Reply

OK guys, I have a problem, I made this lil beat in fruity loops but recorded it with audacity because I did not need to make an entire song for the small beat. The problem is that when I import it to flash ( i have professional 8) it always gets warped. And totally messes the sound quality up. can anyone help me out?

UnknownFear
UnknownFear
  • Member since: Feb. 27, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 37
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-22 21:13:10 Reply

I ahve a question about making a certin genre in FruityLoops. How do you make remixes of video game songs?

D-man17
D-man17
  • Member since: Apr. 12, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-24 08:51:31 Reply

Here's a question , where do I download Fruity Loops?
D-man.

B0UNC3
B0UNC3
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-24 09:50:05 Reply

Here's another question, why don't you read the stickies?
And another one. If you don't find it in the stickies, why don't you try Gooohgulle ?

TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-24 16:09:13 Reply

At 4/20/06 06:28 PM, -Steve- wrote: Fading in and out...how is it done?

Pan-O-Matic on the plug-in


BBS Signature
R00ts
R00ts
  • Member since: Oct. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-24 19:11:07 Reply

At 4/24/06 08:51 AM, D-man17 wrote: Here's a question , where do I download Fruity Loops?
D-man.

You can get the trial at FL's Homepage

TimeBender
TimeBender
  • Member since: Nov. 19, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-24 19:24:00 Reply

This has proably been asked a million times. I'm not new to FL studio, but when an instument is selected one can press some keys and use the keyboard like some sort of piano. My question is in FL5 how does one get that "recorded" or saved in a song?

Thanks in advance

Chef-Jogger
Chef-Jogger
  • Member since: Dec. 18, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-25 12:47:23 Reply

n00b question: I know FruityLoops isn't free. I know you have to pay for it, but do you pay credit card or paper money? I'm just curious about paying for it.

TjA
TjA
  • Member since: Oct. 30, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Melancholy
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-25 13:09:05 Reply

At 4/24/06 07:24 PM, AmeerThePrince wrote: This has proably been asked a million times. I'm not new to FL studio, but when an instument is selected one can press some keys and use the keyboard like some sort of piano. My question is in FL5 how does one get that "recorded" or saved in a song?

Thanks in advance

i think i know what you mean:
1.select PATTERN 1 in PLAYLIST
2.use PIANO ROLL of a selected "sound" to CREATE your RIFF
3.select the PENICIL or PAINTBRUSH and CLICK on a SQUARE in the PLAYLIST on PATTERN 1
4.a BLOCK thing should appear the size of YOUR(thats important) RIFF

guide two (using OTHER PEOPLES RIFFS):
1.select a READY MADE RIFF
2.DRAG to the BOTTOM of the PLAYLIST then LET GO
3.a "sound wave" thing should appear if done right

hope this helps(there are others ways these are the ones i like to use even though i have only used the second one once)


BBS Signature
TimeBender
TimeBender
  • Member since: Nov. 19, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-25 20:27:39 Reply

At 4/25/06 01:09 PM, TJA wrote:
At 4/24/06 07:24 PM, AmeerThePrince wrote: This has proably been asked a million times. I'm not new to FL studio, but when an instument is selected one can press some keys and use the keyboard like some sort of piano. My question is in FL5 how does one get that "recorded" or saved in a song?

Thanks in advance
i think i know what you mean:

..hm, I don't think thats answering my quesition. I think when I said "keys" you assumed I ment in the appliacation, the Fl studio keyboard. That's not what I ment. I'm talking about the input deviece the physical keyboard. When pressing the physical keyboard it'll play like a actual piano.

JesusSaves
JesusSaves
  • Member since: Dec. 2, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-25 20:50:44 Reply

At 4/25/06 08:46 PM, Dark6 wrote: Which do you like better, Fruity Loops or Reason?

Also, do you think they have the same potential?

This is a very common question. You will find answers to be more opinionated than factual. I've always found Reason to be more complicated, but both of them "have the same potential" if you learn how to use them well.

R00ts
R00ts
  • Member since: Oct. 23, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-25 23:22:16 Reply

At 4/25/06 08:50 PM, -Steve- wrote:
At 4/25/06 08:46 PM, Dark6 wrote: Which do you like better, Fruity Loops or Reason?

Also, do you think they have the same potential?
This is a very common question. You will find answers to be more opinionated than factual. I've always found Reason to be more complicated, but both of them "have the same potential" if you learn how to use them well.

Actually I believe FL Studio has more potential. Here's why: Plugins, Reason 3.0 lacks support for VST and VSTi plugins. This means no Rapture, Z3TA+, or any future plugin that can play such a major role. Basically, other than reason's refills, there isn't much for expandability. I also view a great deal of these drum packs for reason to be inferior to the Pro kits I would highly suggest for either studio. FL Studio offers more generators, that if used correctly and with the proper samples are nearly endless in capability. The user interface is easy for beginners and fast for experts. FL Studio, in my personal opinion, has the greatest potential.

B0UNC3
B0UNC3
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-25 23:45:40 Reply

Cubase or Logic pretty much fucks Reason and FL up, but I'm more comfortable with FL and thats why I stick with it. If you don't like the area you work in things will not work...Which is why I DON'T use anything except FLReason is to bright for my superduper eyes.

bassaaphex
bassaaphex
  • Member since: Jan. 2, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-29 04:27:52 Reply

Just a quick question here.

Im thinking about buying fuityloops, i have the trial version and everything but im just wondering which edition i should be buying? Which one of the packages was the trial version released as?

Any help is appreciated ;)

B0UNC3
B0UNC3
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2006-04-29 05:17:03 Reply

I think the trial is producer edition. but aim for XXL, thats definetly the best buy, but cost quite abit.