00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Bruemeister just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Rev Share and RSS

104,151 Views | 374 Replies
Respond to this Topic

Rev Share and RSS 2009-04-15 12:34:33

Back in 1998, I was a student and funding a fledgling Newgrounds out of pocket. As hosting and bandwidth costs spiraled above what I could afford, I found that putting banner ads on Newgrounds to generate ad revenue dug me out of a hole. If I hadn't have done that, Newgrounds probably wouldn't exist today.

In the decade since I started using ads, they have paid the salaries of a growing team, many rising from the ranks right here on NG. We've managed to build a real company, with an office and a vending machine!

While the staff continues to work towards making NG the best it can be, we owe a lot to the contributors who have continued to support NG over the years. It's time to take the next step!

Back in late 2007, PsychoGoldfish launched the NG Flash Ads system, allowing developers to run ads in their Flash, and get the same deal they would get if they were a website, working directly with our advertising sales rep.

With the Flash Ads system came an ambitious new payment process, allowing us to track and pay a growing pool of developers.

Starting today, we are using this system to track ad revenue on user, non-adult Flash and Audio pages. If you are interested in participating in this new rev-share program, simply visit your account options page - look for the "Revenue" box and follow the instructions to sign-up!

Don't act like you're rich now!