Be a Supporter!

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge

  • 2,186,770 Views
  • 64,665 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
slugrail
slugrail
  • Member since: Sep. 1, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 05:57:03 Reply

At 1/19/14 03:47 PM, TheNavigat wrote: "PHP"

i_am_a_syntax_convention_freak();

thisIsJava();

TheNavigat
TheNavigat
  • Member since: Mar. 2, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 09:43:31 Reply

At 1/20/14 05:27 AM, Innermike wrote: Only thing I got from this is that it looks like you use Sublime Text.

More of you need to use Sublime Text, shit is rad yo.

That's Concerned Joe's new website (not released yet) code. More specifically, the account page. Just showing how many functions are there. P.S, now they're even more.

At 1/20/14 05:57 AM, slugrail wrote: i_am_a_syntax_convention_freak();

thisIsJava();

LOL, I started OOP with Objective-C. I got used to writing functions that way, makes everything quite simpler. I'm just not used to using underscores D:


Nav.. I'm the Nav!

kkots
kkots
  • Member since: Apr. 16, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 11:10:28 Reply

At 1/20/14 09:43 AM, TheNavigat wrote: I'm just not used to using underscores D:

Underscores, huh? I never use them. IWriteAllVariablesLikeThisInstead.

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 12:51:55 Reply

At 1/20/14 11:10 AM, kkots wrote: IWriteAllVariablesLikeThisInstead.

You mean you use CamelCasing?
I used to use underscores for everything because PHP and AS2, but they tend to look ugly so I switched to CamelCasing instead.


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
Diki
Diki
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 13
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 13:59:44 Reply

At 1/20/14 05:57 AM, slugrail wrote: thisIsJava();

You know Java didn't invent camel case, right?

MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 15:00:57 Reply

Does skype use a ton of resources for anyone else? After disabling some port option, I got it down to 136k under processes, but that's idling. Someone said that setting IE to the default browser reduces that by a lot, which is absolutely stupid if it's a microsoft ploy.

I need to clean my fan, but I think dota + skype is overheating my cores and BSODing.

kkots
kkots
  • Member since: Apr. 16, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 10
Blank Slate
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 15:09:02 Reply

At 1/20/14 03:00 PM, MSGhero wrote: I got it down to 136k under processes, but that's idling.

I need to clean my fan, but I think dota + skype is overheating my cores

This is the kind of problems that you can either guess a solution for, or you have to be some guru master hacker superman seeing through computer parts to logically find answers for them.

and BSODing.

Ha-ha! Nice verb!

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 15:43:23 Reply

At 1/20/14 03:00 PM, MSGhero wrote: Does skype use a ton of resources for anyone else?

Occasionally it'll use 20% of my six-core 3.5GHz on idle. Still have no idea why. Doesn't happen often and usually only lasts until a restart, but still annoying. No high memory usage as of yet.

I need to clean my fan, but I think dota + skype is overheating my cores and BSODing.

use programs that alert you to high temperature readings, helps a lot. If I don't start blowing a large amount of cold air on my computer while rendering videos it'll heat up to 65 Celsius in a matter of seconds. The fans that come with my processor (and are required unless I want to break the warranty) are not nearly good enough for the amount of heat this thing puts out.


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 16:06:43 Reply

At 1/20/14 03:43 PM, egg82 wrote: use programs that alert you to high temperature readings, helps a lot. If I don't start blowing a large amount of cold air on my computer while rendering videos it'll heat up to 65 Celsius in a matter of seconds. The fans that come with my processor (and are required unless I want to break the warranty) are not nearly good enough for the amount of heat this thing puts out.

I idle with this tab open in chrome at 65-70C, maxes at 86-89C when I just played dota. The ventilation in my room and near the fan intake isn't very good, and the cooling pad I have is USB and uses too much power (it shuts down the other USB ports when I turn it on).

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 16:13:48 Reply

At 1/20/14 04:06 PM, MSGhero wrote: I idle with this tab open in chrome at 65-70C, maxes at 86-89C when I just played dota.

62C should be max, 65C is dangerous and anything above shortens the life of the porcessor. 90-ishC will just melt things and shut down.

The ventilation in my room and near the fan intake isn't very good, and the cooling pad I have is USB and uses too much power (it shuts down the other USB ports when I turn it on).

You need better cooling and PSU.


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 16:32:11 Reply

At 1/20/14 04:13 PM, egg82 wrote: 62C should be max, 65C is dangerous and anything above shortens the life of the porcessor. 90-ishC will just melt things and shut down.

Porcessor listing says recommended tmax is 100C, so I'm on the right side of melting.

You need better cooling and PSU.

I've since turned off the option under USB hubs to turn off ports to converse power, so I tried it again. Idles at 55-65C favoring the lower temps.

There's a bios option to keep fans always on or not. I turned it to not, but they're always on anyway...

Diki
Diki
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 13
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 16:33:33 Reply

At 1/20/14 03:00 PM, MSGhero wrote: Does skype use a ton of resources for anyone else?

Yep. That's precisely why I uninstalled it and have no intention of ever using it again.

MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 16:41:23 Reply

I guess I'll ask: does anyone have a recommended external cooling system for a laptop? I'm on newegg looking at some, but I don't need LEDs and crap on it.

Also those idle temps were when the intel gpu was active and high perf battery settings. Setting the AMD gpu increases the fan speed.

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 16:45:05 Reply

Concerned Joe launcher, now featuring the world's most indecisive progress bar!
http://www.newgrounds.com/dump/item/06eb43c3f88282d3d4a07378690cb6ab

And a gif of the full download at 25mbps down in case you're insane.
http://www.newgrounds.com/dump/item/b9bc2d3a2fec505dba69acd064d8b9a0

(actually, 4ur's porting the launcher from AS3 to Lua, so it probably won't be weird like that)


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
Sam
Sam
  • Member since: Oct. 1, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 19
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 16:57:17 Reply

At 1/20/14 04:33 PM, Diki wrote: Yep. That's precisely why I uninstalled it and have no intention of ever using it again.

It's a bad piece of software but it's hard for me to get around not using it.

At 1/20/14 04:45 PM, egg82 wrote: (actually, 4ur's porting the launcher from AS3 to Lua, so it probably won't be weird like that)

Definitely needs to show the download speed, imo.

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 17:18:05 Reply

At 1/20/14 04:57 PM, Sam wrote: Definitely needs to show the download speed, imo.

Hmm, wonder how I would do that.. ?
If I keep track of the bytes downloaded per second...

A class-wide private variable that stores the total bytes downloaded and a timer that clears it every second? That might work, yeah.


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
Diki
Diki
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 13
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 17:35:31 Reply

At 1/20/14 04:57 PM, Sam wrote: It's a bad piece of software but it's hard for me to get around not using it.

I'm fortunate enough to have no compelling reason to use it. :)

And I completely agree. Skype is garbage.

At 1/20/14 05:18 PM, egg82 wrote: Hmm, wonder how I would do that.. ?
If I keep track of the bytes downloaded per second...

Pretty much. Just track the bytes downloaded over a short period of time, such as five seconds, and divide the total by the number of seconds that you tracked for; the resulting quotient will be the download speed. It won't be 100% accurate, but there really isn't any way to determine download speed without some margin of error.

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 17:35:55 Reply

Also I'm curious as to what everyone's setup/desk looks like. Mine's a disaster area because I eat a lot in front of my PC :P

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
MSGhero
MSGhero
  • Member since: Dec. 15, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 16
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 17:46:26 Reply

At 1/20/14 05:35 PM, egg82 wrote: Also I'm curious as to what everyone's setup/desk looks like. Mine's a disaster area because I eat a lot in front of my PC :P

I had more desk space freshman year. The desk and dresser are different heights, and the cooling pad makes noises when it's not level. The keyboard moves back when I need to do hw or eat.

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge

Diki
Diki
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 13
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 17:47:53 Reply

Mine isn't exactly clean either. Probably should get around to putting those empty beer bottles away...

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge

Sam
Sam
  • Member since: Oct. 1, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 19
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 18:24:27 Reply

Such bad image quality. I did a bit of a clean 4 u guis

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge

Diki
Diki
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 13
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 18:31:19 Reply

Sam, I think me and you have the same webcam. :)
Didn't have it on my monitor in my other picture because it was on my floor.

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 18:47:01 Reply

Everyone's got MS webcams!

Mine captures in 720p, but the big problem is it captures in 720p at 15 FPS 3:

Really need at least 30 if I'm going to use it for vlogs

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
Diki
Diki
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 13
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 18:48:44 Reply

At 1/20/14 06:47 PM, egg82 wrote:
Really need at least 30 if I'm going to use it for vlogs

Why do you need more than 24FPS for video?

egg82
egg82
  • Member since: Jun. 24, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 05
Game Developer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 18:51:08 Reply

At 1/20/14 06:48 PM, Diki wrote: Why do you need more than 24FPS for video?

YouTube plays back at 29.97, but I'd prefer 60 because you can actually tell the difference between 30 and 60 FPS even through a 30 FPS output.

Apparently my webcam has really nice sound to it, buuuutt I've got this so yeah.

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge


Programming stuffs (tutorials and extras)
PM me (instead of MintPaw) if you're confuzzled.
thank Skaren for the sig :P

BBS Signature
Sam
Sam
  • Member since: Oct. 1, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 19
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 18:59:26 Reply

At 1/20/14 06:51 PM, egg82 wrote: YouTube plays back at 29.97, but I'd prefer 60 because you can actually tell the difference between 30 and 60 FPS even through a 30 FPS output.

How so? This makes no sense to me. Surely if the output is refreshing at the equivalent of 30fps then that's all you'll ever be able to see. At 60fps (being a multiple of 30), you'd skip every other frame and the refresh would be timed with every second frame. I could maybe understand differences between 30 and 35, perhaps the frame doesn't change before the refresh update so the video appears more "choppy".

Am I completely misunderstanding how this stuff works?
Diki
Diki
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 13
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 19:13:25 Reply

At 1/20/14 06:51 PM, egg82 wrote: YouTube plays back at 29.97, but I'd prefer 60 because you can actually tell the difference between 30 and 60 FPS even through a 30 FPS output.

You can notice it in the same sense that if you recorded something at 400FPS at played it back on 30FPS, sure. My point was there isn't any reason to record or playback video at speeds greater than 24FPS. If there was film and television wouldn't be using 24FPS.

At 1/20/14 06:59 PM, Sam wrote: Surely if the output is refreshing at the equivalent of 30fps then that's all you'll ever be able to see. At 60fps (being a multiple of 30), you'd skip every other frame and the refresh would be timed with every second frame.

Depends on how the playback is handled. It could skip every other frame, or it could interpolate every two frames by blending them into one, which can be used to create a motion blur effect.

Sam
Sam
  • Member since: Oct. 1, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 19
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 19:17:13 Reply

At 1/20/14 07:13 PM, Diki wrote: You can notice it in the same sense that if you recorded something at 400FPS at played it back on 30FPS, sure. My point was there isn't any reason to record or playback video at speeds greater than 24FPS. If there was film and television wouldn't be using 24FPS.

But did you see The Hobbit in 48fps? That shit was smooth.

Depends on how the playback is handled. It could skip every other frame, or it could interpolate every two frames by blending them into one, which can be used to create a motion blur effect.

So with the example above, how would you notice 400fps vs 200fps if the display refreshes at 30fps? I understand interpolating, but is it just a case of being able to interpolate more because of more available frames?

Diki
Diki
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2004
  • Online!
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 13
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 19:23:08 Reply

At 1/20/14 07:17 PM, Sam wrote: But did you see The Hobbit in 48fps? That shit was smooth.

No, but I have seen videos taken on a GoPro recorded at 60FPS and it just looks wrong. Like it's being played in slow-motion but everything is moving at normal speed. It's like visual cognitive dissonance.

At 1/20/14 07:17 PM, Sam wrote: So with the example above, how would you notice 400fps vs 200fps if the display refreshes at 30fps? I understand interpolating, but is it just a case of being able to interpolate more because of more available frames?

The difference would just be that the interpolation would be blending different frames, since 400FPS would have two frames for every one frame that 200FPS would have. Basically it would just end up creating even more "intense" of a blurring effect.

TheNavigat
TheNavigat
  • Member since: Mar. 2, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Programmer
Response to The Flash 'Reg' Lounge 2014-01-20 20:12:10 Reply

Here's mine. That monitor's my brother, and yea, having someone else in the room is awful.

The Flash 'Reg' Lounge


Nav.. I'm the Nav!