00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

PlusOneGhost just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Motion - A Mastering Experiment

5,328 Views | 24 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Motion - A Mastering Experiment 2007-04-13 13:39:32

I've made my first "real" master of a song. It's not optimal, since I've mixed the song myself (wich makes it alot more difficult to "listen with new ears"), but I gave it some time to rest after the mix, before entering the mastering stage.
I'm a newbie at this, and I'm learning. If you have any views regarding the technicalaty here, or have any pointers or whatever, feel free to start a discussion. I made a thread out of this since it is indeed an experiment for me, and I figured some might be interested to learn more about this (just like I am). Best selfwhoring thread ever? :)

Compare the tracks
Motion, Pre-Master

Motion, Mastered

What is mastering?
- Mastering is the final stage when a product i is prepared for it's final medium. If you intend on playing the song in a nightclub, you will master it one way, if you want it to sound good on low-end radios, you'll have a different approach. If you intend on the audio to be in a flash, you'll optimize for it. There are many aspects to take under concideration when mastering. If the product is going to be an mp3, you must be aware of the fact that mp3 don't have the same dynamic range a 16bit CD quality .wav have. If you make extremley compressed electronic music, for example, it might even be difficult to actually hear any difference between .wav and .mp3, since the processing surley will glue the dynamics to the rough, making it as loud as possible. it's a difficult art to master, but we're all n00bs in the beginning.

Stereo bus out