00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

KiichigoInu just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Mobile HTML5 gamedev AMA

320 Views | 4 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Mobile HTML5 gamedev AMA 2019-05-27 09:39:44

Hey guys, I have been building mobile web games since 2013 and recently rediscovered Newgrounds and really like the new newgrounds.io api but noticed that the amount of new mobile friendly games is low compared to other portals. To help remedy this I wanted to offer any help if game devs have questions about developing games for mobile/touch screens!

My expertise lies in JavaScript (duh) and I mainly use Phaser (CE and 3), three.js, Babylonjs, iio.js and all the other tools required to make graphics and animations. Feel free to ask anything and I’ll try to answer best I can.

Response to Mobile HTML5 gamedev AMA 2019-06-06 02:28:27

In the future do you imagine yourself moving onto Unity, specifically, Project Tiny? (https://blogs.unity3d.com/2018/12/05/project-tiny-preview-package-is-here/)

If not, what do you like about building games in this medium over others?

BBS Signature

Response to Mobile HTML5 gamedev AMA 2019-06-06 04:23:32 (edited 2019-06-06 04:25:13)

At 6/6/19 02:28 AM, 23450 wrote: In the future do you imagine yourself moving onto Unity, specifically, Project Tiny? (https://blogs.unity3d.com/2018/12/05/project-tiny-preview-package-is-here/)

If not, what do you like about building games in this medium over others?

I work with Unity for a few projects including porting my game Reach for the Star https://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/731340 (Unity port is not being worked on at the moment)

and I ported a more serious desktop game https://www.reddit.com/r/Unity3D/comments/611rc9/converted_my_game_from_html5_to_unity_wip/ to unity

However, I still remain an avid HTML5 developer for many reasons.