Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 30, 2011 | 6:57 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • NG Movie Jam 1
    NG Movie Jam 1 Teams had 48 hours to animate stories from the forums.

Author Comments

NEWGROUNDS MOVIE JAM 1 - JANUARY 2011
A flash movie created in less than 48 hours for the Newgrounds Movie Jam, January 2011. Blood sweat and tears went into this animation and a lot of work! We hope you enjoy it! A secret song can be found in the menu, somewhere...

Based on the story by Nathaniel Milburn.
The script was randomly assigned to the team so we were not prepared for this story.

THE STORY - EXPLAINED:
The bird is a demon and required to possess life. The bird took the life of the boy, who was innocent and mislead. The end shows the bird with a scythe for a wing, it was used to kill and make the fire that set the forest alight. Many say there are 'plot holes' but they were sleeping outside because the tent was full, the boy went to far away from the camp, thus loosing contact with his friends, all the plot-falls have explanations. The orginial script can be found below:

"A small 8 year old boy scout was walking through the forest. It was pouring down
rain and just starting to get dark. As he was on his way back to camp he started to hear some
type of noise. The noise sounded like someone was in trouble. The noise led him to this tree where
a bird was lying under it. His wing had been broken and was unable to fly. The bird was just lying
there yelling in pain, he didn't care if another animal heard him and could have eaten him, he didn't
want to live anymore.

The little boy being a cub scout and all wanted to help him. He bandaged up the bird and tried to him
get on his way, but the bird was unable to move at all with his broken wing. The bird said if I'm unable
to get food I'm going to starve. The boy scout knew he had to hunt for this little bird. The scout then
started to hunt down animals and killed each one he saw to feed this little bird the food he deserves.
Instead of going back home the boy stayed out in the wild with the bird. They became friends real fast
and built a house together. The birds wing apparently stayed broken for years. The boy eventually got older
and decided to figure out why the birds wing was never getting any better. When the bird was sleeping he snuck
in and took of the cast. What he saw was astonishing. The grown up scout couldn't believe his eyes.

End."

The script has been modified.

Reviews


SinXGrinSinXGrin

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 1, 2011

K, really good. But could've been better

I think that for the time given you guys did an excellent job. A few things could have been done better tho. The transitions between scenes were drawn out a few times, they could've have been a little bit smoother. The main character could have been a little bit less robotic with more than just two face expressions. The ending was really confusing, I guess it was supposed to be a demon or something? And why did he kill the boy? All in all you guys did an awesome job, keep up the good work.

P.S. I thought that it was really cool that you could see different artists styles throughout.


funkycaveman responds:

Thanks for the review. The bird was a demon and of course demons kill people. We did try to make each persons art obvious, we didn't want everything merging into one big mess.


drakke125drakke125

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 31, 2011

beginnign was good

but the ending is weird....and creepy/horrifying....like RAH!!! from the crow and its like OMG! O.O!!! and then you see the crow crying.......its a bit strange tho seeing how that happened....its also hard to beleive how the crow can even kill the guy even if he did have a beak or if his wings was...uh.....became a horn like thing? o.O its feathers for crying out loud lolz


People find this review helpful!

EbonyCrescentEbonyCrescent

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 15, 2011

Overall Pretty good

For a 48 hour limit effort, this is actually really good.
The animation still smooth, and I can see the effort put into the art and color.
I also liked pretty much most of the story.
What it lacks , however, is a proper explanation to the story ( which I see many people have asked about in earlier comments.)
Perhaps you could explain it to us? :)
Im pretty sure a lot of people want to know what exactly happened.


People find this review helpful!

MinkeemooMinkeemoo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 1, 2011

nice work

I like your animation, it was well put together for 48 hours. I enjoy the storyline, for once there is a video that doesn't consist of penises or poop!

It's very sad, the crow's tears in the end made me sad :(

good job


funkycaveman responds:

From the start we wanted to create an animation that was not funny and full of 'poop', but something that people could take seriously. A lot of people don't appreciate this.


SisenikSisenik

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 1, 2011

Really nice!

It had a good, clever storyline, fitting music, and a unique art style. The plot was kind of dramatic, and surprising, when it got to the end. The only thing that stands in the way of giving one more point is that it has some minor flaws. For example, when the narration said something like "And the boy and the bird lived in the forest for years", it had a narrator's voice that was too soft to hear, and the screen after that had no voice at all(or it was even quieter).

Over all, however, it was a nice story, and I found it very interesting. Keep up the good work, and strive for greatness.


People find this review helpful!
funkycaveman responds:

Thanks for the review. The voices at the end were really quiet and we decided to take them out in the end.