Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 20, 2010 | 12:47 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 21, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

GRAPHICS INTENSIVE; MEDIUM VIEWING QUALITY RECOMMENDED; SCREEN EXTENSION NOT RECOMMENDED

2 and a half years of work have led to this - my little 14 minute epic. To give fair warning, anyone in the mood for straight up action or comedy will probably be disappointed. But it is my hope that those ready to dive into a new world full of fantastic technology, false words, and rising snow will find much to enjoy in Dual Arms Verbatim Part 1.

Those who would like the fullest appreciation of the story are encouraged to peruse the "World" section of the menu, (I've designed it to have no spoilers, save perhaps slightly in the NAU part of the factions).

If you could spare the time, I'd really appreciate any constructive feedback you guys can offer on my work, so if you have any comments, questions, or suggestions for me, please leave a review. I can't guarantee a response to each, but be assured that I read every one. Thanks!

EDIT 5: Subs finally active and pausable! Note again that due to a bug, subs are reactivated at the beginning of each scene, regardless of whether they were active or not. I have structured the subs to disappear in several dialogue-less areas, so it may not seem this way, but they are there. There is no known fix to this, but I hope it doesn't inconvenience you too much. Just turn them off if in doubt.
If you come across any other bugs, (including typos and such) please PM me with them (don't review just to tell a bug - pm's are easier for me to keep track of). Thanks!
The previous version added an extra's section with some links. Concept Art is also finally active!
ENJOY!

Anyone who wants more Dual Arms after seeing the movie and REALLY cant wait for part II may appreciate seeing the Verbatim Trailer here http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/537880

And if you don't mind some...crappy animation, you can also check out the chronological sequel to the Dual Arms Verbatim plot - Dual Arms Precipice http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/411273 It was made before starting Verbatim some 2 years ago, and it shows. My skill was even less then than now, and it has sound problems similar to Verbatim (though it DOES have sloppily done subs). But the plot there is a bit more understandable and in a sort of strange spoiler PRECIPICE CONTAINS THE FINAL FATE OF SETH FROM THIS VIDEO. With that in mind, those who liked Verbatim may enjoy it, so take a look.

EDIT: Woot - Daily third! Thanks to everyone who voted. Rest assured, part 2 WILL be made; you WILL one day see the conclusion of Dual Arms Verbatim, should you choose to do so. With that in mind, please bear with me another few years whilst I set everything in order. T_T I hope the conclusion will rise to your expectations! Thanks again to all who watched.

EDIT 3: FRONT PAGED! YEAAAAAAH. Thanks again to everyone who liked the work, and thanks to Tom for giving me the opportunity to get some more feedback. Part II will come people! Look out for it!

Reviews


andrewmcwattersandrewmcwatters

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2010

What did I just watch.

I don't know. But, have a 5 and a 10. My brain exploded.


RPGsrok responds:

I hope that's a good thing. Thanks for reviewing.


demonmanlaserdemonmanlaser

Rated 0 / 5 stars June 21, 2010

flash

you could have gave the women bigger tits



Nicholas-DearyNicholas-Deary

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2010

One of the best flashes on NG!

Wow! This flash is amazing in quality and it is obvious that you have spent a great deal of time on it. From the very beginning I could tell that it was going to be a fantastic flash. The use of the dynamic camera angles, the continuity editing between certain scenes and the shear complexity of it gives it the edge over most other flashes on the site. One of my favourite things about the flash was that the different scenes reminded me of so many other things. The scene where the train enters the snowy world reminded me of the Xombie series for it's atmospheric values and the interior scenes in the snow area reminded me of certain levels from Halo 3.

The complexity of the characters, plot and settings you created reminded me of Mass Effect and this has to be the main thing I would draw comparison to. I thought that the use of 3D was a great choice and fit in well with most of the scenes (Swift 3D I'm assuming). I don't usually watch long flashes on NG as very few can hold up over it's length of time, but this one is definitely an exception. It is a shame that the score of this submission isn't higher, the sad thing is that a lot of people won't watch the whole flash and will therefore rate it without experiencing the full quality of it.

I have little criticism to express about this flash but I do have a couple of things to point out. I think that in some parts the voice acting is a little off and is a little hard to understand. That isn't necessarily your fault but maybe subtitles would have been a good idea. One other thing is that although as a whole the artwork was excellent, there would certain parts where the characters looked a little rough but really that wasn't much of an issue.

Anyway, brilliant flash I thoroughly enjoyed watching it and all that's left for me to say is please make part 2!


RPGsrok responds:

I'm glad you enjoyed the flash, and thank you for watching it the whole way through. Sadly, interesting though they seem, I haven't seen Zombie, and haven't played Halo or Mass Effect, though Mass Effect in particular certainly looked interesting to me.

I was indeed using swift 3D and I continue to be impressed by how little you guys mind my lack of 3D skill. I certainly hope to improve, should I ever be so fortunate as to find some classes to take, but I'm glad you thought well of them.

Indeed I would LOVE to have some subs and so as I've mentioned before IF ANYONE CAN CODE ACTIVATABLE SUBTITLES PLEASE LET ME KNOW. I don't have that sort of coding skill and I find the sort where you just hover your cursor over the bottom of the screen to be very amateur. If I have the good fortune to find out how to do decent subs, I will upload a new version of the video and if you want, I can let you know. I thought there were some good performances on the part of my actors and a few lacking, in acting and quality; overall I still think they did a good job. Character roughness was definately something I needed work on.

Thank you for reviewing, and please have patience; part 2 will be made eventually and I can only hope it will rise to your expectations.


FightingSeraphFightingSeraph

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 20, 2010

Almost Perfect.

Nicholas, I think that you have something that would give Fallen Angel a worthy competitor and would put the likes of Minushi, Xombie, and whatnot to shame. However, I have to agree with een777 on the story though, it would have been better if you created a proper pilot episode. With that out of the way, on with the review...

In terms of art and animation, you have some good frame by frame with actual shading, nice use of swift 3D/Milkshape 3D, clever use of gradients, and nice painted backgrounds. As for the frame-by-frame stuff, I will agree that it could have used a few more frames in certain places, but at least you didn't cop out like Arrogancy, Chester Kwan, and those motion comic flashes (I hate those things). As for the characters, Unlike Rhete you and your friends did a good job drawing them. On the other hand, anime-style art is overused and you might piss off anime haters such as Oney, Hans Van Harken, Doug Sauncy (the Keegan's Truck guy), and TFX to name a few. Then there's the sound, which is a bit of a mixed bag. On one hand, you have a nice music selection such as the Fire Field theme from F-Zero GX (Show No Pain), Hitoshi Sakimoto, and other games. On the other hand, the voice acting is pretty bad. Not just in the recording quality, but the actual acting is reminiscent of English dubbed Voltes 5 and Mazinger. I think you need to get Sam Haft, Malamite Ltd., Druox the Shredder, Sapphire, G-Force, and a few others for this project. As for the content, you did a great job on the direction, the story, the setting, and the originality. However, as I, along with een, have said before: starting in the middle was a bad decision and I would like for you to come up with a proper pilot episode for this. The only other flaw that I could notice is how some of the Greek letters were used. When using Greek letters: Psi=ps, H is used as vowel, and X=H.

What I do like:
-Above-average art and animation
-Good story so far
-Nice music and sound effect selection
-Original
-Great mechanical design
-Top-notch direction and setting

What I don't like:
-Bad voice acting, a few more takes along with redone recordings would have helped this.
-Animation could have been a bit smoother in parts.
-Improper use of Greek Letters
-Lack of a proper pilot

Overall: In spite of this cartoon's flaws, I still think it was great. Here's a nine out of ten.


People find this review helpful!
RPGsrok responds:

As I've mentioned, I spent at least one of the two years of this thing's producting asking myself why I wanted to do this episode 'next'. If you actually look at my work, this isn't the first Dual Arms I've made (though if you do look at my work, watch Precipice NOT NOCTURNUS - because being my first flash, it was crap), but yeah, I was a bit stupid going through the middle like this. I never thought of it as a pilot, and if I were to produce a completely different Dual Arms episode (after hypothetically finishing the second part of Verbatim) I would definitely go straight to the chronological beginning and do a proper 'pilot'.

I was using swift 3D, and honestly I think I suck. I've never had formal lessons in any animation per se, but especially need a lotta work in my 3D, and I'm not afraid to admit it. I also think ther's really no point to so-called "motion-comics" and I'm glad you see the thought behind my decisions. And as you said, the animation could be smoothed, but you can only do so much by yourself if you hope to finish something like this. I hope you can understand that, though it's certainly no justification for low quality.

Honestly, I dunno Rhete, but as for any critique on the 'anime-style', please understand that I have no intention of drastically changing my style to the western; I rather like anime myself. Again, I don't know all the users you're citing but I can say for my part that I hold a bit of DISDAIN for Oney and Hans, and so if they didn't like my work, I'd have no problem with that.

Another person had also complained about the voices, and I respectfully reply that there were some good performances in there. I acknowledge though that some actors could've done better both in terms of quality and acting. Again, I don't know the actors you're listing, and I also think it'd be presumptuous of me to just contact them and say "You, actor! Work for me! Thanks!" Nonetheless, I will do what I can to get good actors in the future.

You are the first person to reference the greek. I certainly used it liberally, and i was getting the letters from the atene font, which may not map perfectly. Not speaking Greek myself, (and c'mon, I'm using it to spell out ENGLISH), I'm perfectly fine with there being some errors in it, though I'm sorry it annoyed you.

Thank you for your faith in my work, and for being so kind as to review. I hope to hear from you in the future.


HizuPlagueHizuPlague

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 20, 2010

. . .

This was really cool to watch. Even if the animation and art was a bit "okay" at times, the setting was great. I realize how boring it can be to animate people talking and walking, and it looked like you gave up at some points and just tried to get through to the next scene. The music and backgrounds were good and helped set the setting of the story. I gave this a 5 to help raise the score to at least 4.00, because it should be a bit higher. I know animation takes a lot of time and patience, so hopefully the next installment will have a lot better animation and art in it. Just keep practicing.


RPGsrok responds:

Yeah, you'd better believe I got tired of this thing sometimes. Though what you might also consider is that this was done over such a long time that my animation skill improved over the course of it. Sure I went back and fixed things at some places, but I am guilty as charged in that there were several times when I just decided things weren't worth fixing. (for your entertainment - the scene with the most artifacts from my beginning work is probably scene 2 - Other Issues and the scene I finished most recently was the opening - you may find it interesting to compare them).

I take no credit for the creation of the music, but I do take heart in knowing you liked the backgrounds - I put a lot of time into 'em and I'm glad they worked out for you.

I appreciate your vote, I'd certainly like this to score a 4, but 4 or not, its good to know there's people out there who found this one entertaining. Thanks for reviewing!