Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 469,076 Views
  • 6,781 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
BulletCasing
BulletCasing
  • Member since: Jun. 8, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-16 23:12:21 Reply

At 12/16/10 10:53 PM, BulletCasing wrote: I have a few questions that would really help. Most likely they've already been answered at some point, but I mean, come on, there's no way I'm looking through 500+ pages.

Woops, I mean 100+ pages. Looked at the wrong thread.


"How far are you prepared to go to save someone you love?"

BBS Signature
jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-17 02:42:11 Reply

At 12/16/10 10:53 PM, BulletCasing wrote: Hey guys. Now, I'm still a complete newb in terms of using FL, but I have made one (attempt at a) dubstep track, but let's just say it didn't come out to well.

I have a few questions that would really help. Most likely they've already been answered at some point, but I mean, come on, there's no way I'm looking through 500+ pages.

1) How would I make my bass more pronounced and loud? The last time I made a bassline and added the wobble, it was extremely quiet compared to professional tracks.

2) How should I fill in the quiet spots in my song? I feel with just the bassline and kick/snare pattern, it's much to quiet. Is it just a matter of adding some synth sounds and leads, or is it more of a matter of just personal preference?

Volume wise, check the levels on your mixer track and if it fills 3/4 of the bar and up wile playing. its probably loud enough, make sure its not clipping though(turning bright orange/red=bad most of the time).

Although empty parts in a mix can be very intriguing(if pulled off professionally, i cant do it yet), you should try to shoot for a full sound just for practice. If your bass is very sub and not much higher end bass/low mids add a pad if the song calls for it. Yes, use synths and other instruments to fill the upper mix oh and high hats, and other percussison that fits in.

That the basics, the rest is up to you.

InvisibleObserver
InvisibleObserver
  • Member since: Feb. 9, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-17 02:53:47 Reply

At 12/16/10 10:53 PM, BulletCasing wrote: Hey guys. Now, I'm still a complete newb in terms of using FL, but I have made one (attempt at a) dubstep track, but let's just say it didn't come out to well.

I see you're a band wagon jumping consumer whore! <3 (This is a joke)

1) How would I make my bass more pronounced and loud? The last time I made a bassline and added the wobble, it was extremely quiet compared to professional tracks.

This deals with mixing. Checkout what other instruments might be competing for the louder frequency ranges of your bass. Use the parametric Equalizer. If part of one instrument (say a higher up instrument) is covering where part of your bass is, you can greatly reduce the high instruments presence in your bass realm, so the bass is more noticeably the subject of that allotted frequency.

As for whats specific to the typical 'dubstep' wobble, 'reese' or whatever you'd like to call it. Start by compressing your instrument (Fruity compression), and use the "complete mix" preset. This will be tipping the volume to max without red lining (unless your instrument is really that ridonculosly quiet).

Do not raise the instrument channel volume above 100%, do not raise the mixer channel volume abve 100%, do not set your notes to above 100%. Bad practice in most cases, and likely to just cause you to do something to negate the effect elsewhere in your chain of mixing.

Anyways, after compression you have w/e effects you have, hopefully in a logical order (top happens first, bottom effect happens last). Whereever your likely low pass filter is, don't make the wobble hit 0hz ever or whatever the lowest setting is, as this will cut all audio output,
stopping at 50hz is probably fine. Raise the resonance a smidgen from the default setting.

Compress after your filter. You'll be losing a lot of perceived volume by filtering out the higher frequencies. Typically if you add distortion or something, do it after your filter. Then when you compress you'll be raising the overtones left from the distortion on your bass. So you'll still have the shape of the wobble generally speaking, but with more definition.

Good idea to also layer a 3xosc sine wave sub bass onto your bass line thats less affected by the filter, to make sure the presence holds.

If you can give more information on what you are doing specifically though, I, or someone else (maybe someone who actually has dubstep 'experience'), can help sort out your issue.

Screen shots are nice.

2) How should I fill in the quiet spots in my song? I feel with just the bassline and kick/snare pattern, it's much to quiet. Is it just a matter of adding some synth sounds and leads, or is it more of a matter of just personal preference?

BBS Signature
InvisibleObserver
InvisibleObserver
  • Member since: Feb. 9, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-17 02:59:13 Reply

2) How should I fill in the quiet spots in my song? I feel with just the bassline and kick/snare pattern, it's much to quiet. Is it just a matter of adding some synth sounds and leads, or is it more of a matter of just personal preference?

Having quiet spots in a song isn't necessarily a bad thing, unless there are gaps in the entirety of your piece. Dynamics are nice.

You could mix a single instrument in such a way to totally fill out the audible human frequency spectrum (generally 20hz to 20khz) and your song would sound quite full, especially if the stereo field has been taken into consideration. However thats likely to be pretty boring. More instruments, right harmony/melody/counterpoint etc etc. In a way the answer to your question is "Yea, just add more instruments", but thats a ginormous statement to make which involves a ton of sub-information.

For dubstep anways, you'll be probably including predominantly higher frequency noises, pads/strings and similar sustained instruments are your friend. Lookup some youtube video's if you are seriously asking this question. Writing a song 101 is not FL related, but theory/music related.

Personal preference is always present, but if everyone says your song sucks, and your personal preference is against that, too bad, try to keep your butt-hurt to yourself. :P


BBS Signature
Assios
Assios
  • Member since: Nov. 10, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Programmer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-18 09:51:19 Reply

Why can't I make that pitch knob an automation clip (or basically all three "Time stretching" knobs)? When I right click it, the only option is "Reset".

Thanks in advance:)

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

Kazmo
Kazmo
  • Member since: Mar. 26, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 20
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-18 10:28:03 Reply

At 12/18/10 09:51 AM, Assios wrote: Why can't I make that pitch knob an automation clip (or basically all three "Time stretching" knobs)? When I right click it, the only option is "Reset".

Thanks in advance:)

The reason you can't make those automation clips is because those 3 knobs adjust the sample, and cannot be changed in real-time. Automation clips automate in real-time, and stretching a sample is impossible in real-time.

You can, however, automate the pitch knob at the top of that window, changing the # beside it so that you can pitch it more or less or with more accuracy.


Audio-Technica ATH-700Pro Mk2 Headphones User

If you love trance: Kazmo's Beats!

Assios
Assios
  • Member since: Nov. 10, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Programmer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-18 11:26:32 Reply

Thanks, Kazmo!

Reaper93
Reaper93
  • Member since: Sep. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-18 13:13:46 Reply

@ DubStepDuderManzG -

Invisible Observer covered most of the stuff, but one thing you can try to work with is that while in a fuller mix you're going to want to ruthlessly cut frequencies that aren't necessary (the bass off all your high freq instruments, the high freqs off all your bass instruments, for instance), during a fill or break where there isn't a lot going on, it can pay to automate those cuts back out to help fill out the instrument's sound (for instance, an electric bass often has a pluck-like attack in the upper midrange or lower upperrange [instrument electric bass, not synthesized], and while removing that or mitigating it might be desirable while you've got all kinds of arps and leads and beepbeepkadeepz going on over top of it to make room in your mix for more VOLUME and less clashing, if all that top-end goes away all of a sudden, it'll probably be a wonderful idea to re-add the top end to your bass!)

AccountableMasses
AccountableMasses
  • Member since: Dec. 25, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
InvisibleObserver
InvisibleObserver
  • Member since: Feb. 9, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-18 14:59:34 Reply

At 12/18/10 02:22 PM, AccountableMasses wrote: What does the vocoder do?

Time for fruity loops help and wiki.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vocoder

If you don't want to bother with that, send 2 tracks, a modulator and a carrier to 2 seperate mixer channels. Pan one left, one right, and route both to a third mixer channel with the vocoder on. Make them both play something, hit play, and it will be vocoded.


BBS Signature
shadowfox99
shadowfox99
  • Member since: Jul. 4, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-18 16:07:43 Reply

I'm interested in possibly making and submitting trance muic to the site, but I do not know which music program would be better suited (ex. garageband, fruity loop, etc). Which one is more user friendly and would give the user the most freedom for compostion?

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-18 17:50:46 Reply

Bear in mind FL Studio only works on Windows and Garageband only works on Mac.

FL Studio is an excellent choice for Windows, since it is both capable and easy to learn. It has a fully functional demo, so try it out.

If you have a Mac, you might want to look beyond Garageband. It is possible to make music properly with Garageband, but you might get more out of Reason, Cubase, or Ableton Live.

ganon95
ganon95
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-23 22:51:57 Reply

im gonna try to explain this as best i can.

on 2 song projects i have on FL9 the song will suddenly and randomly freeze while the song is playing, it will repeat a 1/2 second of the song over and over and will eventually say "this program is not responding" and i have to close FL to reload the song.

it only seems to do this on certain sections of the song, but others it works fine. and its only 2 song files that ive had this problem with. any idea what i can do to fix this?

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-23 23:37:15 Reply

At 12/23/10 10:51 PM, ganon95 wrote: im gonna try to explain this as best i can.

on 2 song projects i have on FL9 the song will suddenly and randomly freeze while the song is playing, it will repeat a 1/2 second of the song over and over and will eventually say "this program is not responding" and i have to close FL to reload the song.

it only seems to do this on certain sections of the song, but others it works fine. and its only 2 song files that ive had this problem with. any idea what i can do to fix this?

It sounds like it's related to memory. There are a few things you can do to improve this. First and foremost, if your computer has more then 2gigs of RAM, make sure to go into your program files and use the extended memory version of fl studio (it will say extended memory in parenthesis).

Next thing to do is to optimize your audio settings with the proper CPU settings. Load up FL Studio and go into Options>>Audio Settings. In the 'Mixer' part of the audio settings, make sure that 'Reset plugins on transport' is turned off, and make sure that your resampling is set to linear or 6-point (preferibly linear).

If you have a dual or quad core CPU, also make sure to turn on both the multithread processing. If that is already on, then actually turn it off, because multithread processing can actually make some plugins glitch which is a very small possibility of what problem you are getting.

Last but not least, to help your audio driver process more smoothly and quicker, make sure you are using the ASIO4ALL driver or any other ASIO drivers.

Getting that all up to date should significantly help your set up and reduce crashes. I

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-24 15:46:10 Reply

Real quick,
in general(for a better stereo surround) do you put delay or a stereo enhancer first in your mixer track? (i know reverb usually goes before each of those).

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-24 18:14:28 Reply

At 12/24/10 03:46 PM, jpbear wrote: Real quick,
in general(for a better stereo surround) do you put delay or a stereo enhancer first in your mixer track? (i know reverb usually goes before each of those).

There isnt really rules with effects like that when it comes to signal chains. Its really just about the desired end product.

Think about it this way:

Pretend that everytime you add an effect, you record the output, and then put that recording onto a different mixer channel to add another effect. Basically thats how the order works, and in your case, if you delay after a stereo enhancer, then the delayed notes will not have the stereo enhancement per se...if thats the effect you want then go for it.

Reaper93
Reaper93
  • Member since: Sep. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-24 22:14:43 Reply

If you want delayed stereo-enhanced source signal put the delay second, if you want stereo-enhanced delayed source signal put the delay first.

I'd imagine putting the stereo-enhancer last would have the most pronounced effect since it wouldn't be hidden under layers of other effects.

Reaper93
Reaper93
  • Member since: Sep. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-26 12:35:04 Reply

I've often experienced a problem with that when attempting to use ASIO4ALL, as it gets angry when you run any application that uses sound besides FL Studio simultaneously and stops working until you muck about with it.

Perhaps that's not it, though.

InvisibleObserver
InvisibleObserver
  • Member since: Feb. 9, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-26 12:37:25 Reply

At 12/26/10 11:34 AM, Skeepsis wrote: There's probably a simple solution to this. The problem is that the sound in my FL Studio has muted and I don't know why.

Master out volume up?
Mix Master out?
Mix channels muted?
Master channel muted?
Instrument channels muted?
Any EQ/filters on master cutting all volume?
Any peak controlers with the mute setting still turned on?
Checked your sound card options?
Checked the mixers output settings?
Speakers working for other software?


BBS Signature
Step
Step
  • Member since: Nov. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 25
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-26 17:09:23 Reply

Quick question.

How do you change the default soundfont player in FL Studio?


Review Request Club | CHECK THIS OUT | Formerly Supersteph54 | I'm an Audio Moderator. PM me for Audio Portal help.

BBS Signature
Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-26 17:38:22 Reply

At 12/26/10 05:09 PM, Supersteph54 wrote: Quick question.

How do you change the default soundfont player in FL Studio?

You dont. You open the soundfont player you want to use first, then you load it from there

darthduba
darthduba
  • Member since: Dec. 19, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-26 19:14:10 Reply

When I'm working on a project I usually get stuck at the point where FL starts making crackling noises an I become unable of continueing. This usually happens when I have created multiple instruments in sytrus, or layer several instruments with reeverb on it.

Does it have something to do with CPU ? Is there any way to prevent this from happening ?

Duba


BBS Signature
Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-26 19:21:10 Reply

At 12/26/10 07:14 PM, darthduba wrote: When I'm working on a project I usually get stuck at the point where FL starts making crackling noises an I become unable of continueing. This usually happens when I have created multiple instruments in sytrus, or layer several instruments with reeverb on it.

Does it have something to do with CPU ? Is there any way to prevent this from happening ?

Duba

yea sounds like cpu stuff

up your buffer rate, try using triple buffer option if you are using 9.7 beta. make sure you are using multithreading if your using dual core cpu or more.

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-26 21:24:27 Reply

At 12/26/10 07:14 PM, darthduba wrote: When I'm working on a project I usually get stuck at the point where FL starts making crackling noises an I become unable of continueing. This usually happens when I have created multiple instruments in sytrus, or layer several instruments with reeverb on it.

Does it have something to do with CPU ? Is there any way to prevent this from happening ?

Duba

If you aren't already, use an ASIO driver. (In the FL Studio audio settings, click "Primary Sound Driver" and select ASIO4ALL from the list that appears.)

ganon95
ganon95
  • Member since: Jan. 31, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-27 00:24:19 Reply

hiya, im looking for instruction on how to automate something

the effect im trying to automate is the "fade out" effect, an example of it is in this song, the drum beat fades out at 3:30

  • [v150r - lifeform VIP]
    [v150r - lifeform VIP] by v150r

    Click to listen.

    Score
    4.36 / 5.00
    Type
    Song
    Genre
    Drum N Bass
    Popularity
    386 Views

i don't think its filtering, i know how to do that, filtering sounds different

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-27 00:36:41 Reply

At 12/27/10 12:24 AM, ganon95 wrote: hiya, im looking for instruction on how to automate something

the effect im trying to automate is the "fade out" effect, an example of it is in this song, the drum beat fades out at 3:30
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/2 64594
i don't think its filtering, i know how to do that, filtering sounds different

sounds like hes just lowering the highs/high mids in an eq, maybe a little bass boost on the drums then volume lower.

1) route all your drum mixer tracks into one track on your mixer
2) put a parametric eq(i prefer fruity 2)
3) move the 7th band point deal to midway on the line
4) right click on the far right band level(7), and click automate,
5) and go from 50% down to 0% gradually

i re listened to it and he probably also boosts a band level(by automation), then automates the frequency level downards onthe drum mixer track to get that sweeping down kinda sound.

hope ya can understand that ;)

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-27 00:41:41 Reply

At 12/26/10 07:14 PM, darthduba wrote: When I'm working on a project I usually get stuck at the point where FL starts making crackling noises an I become unable of continueing. This usually happens when I have created multiple instruments in sytrus, or layer several instruments with reeverb on it.

Does it have something to do with CPU ? Is there any way to prevent this from happening ?

Duba

its inevitable(apart from getting a better soundcard/computer of course), but when over tweaking/creating synths by hand on sytrus you get MASSIVE cpu usage, as in pretty much dont create your own synths or dont tweak much from presets. But thats probably cause i dont know how to synthesize that well. Also the unison chorus feature on the main panel in sytrus boosts cpu MAJORLY so try to avoid that. I love sytrus but i hate the cpu load.

InvisibleObserver
InvisibleObserver
  • Member since: Feb. 9, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 22
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-27 02:41:29 Reply

At 12/27/10 12:24 AM, ganon95 wrote: hiya, im looking for instruction on how to automate something
i don't think its filtering, i know how to do that, filtering sounds different

Sounds like filtering. Compress before and after to maintain a volume level output that doesn't deflate. The EQ example Jpbear gives is pretty much what the filters doing anyways without as visual an interface. Play with the knee/cut off curve for desired effect.


BBS Signature
darthduba
darthduba
  • Member since: Dec. 19, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 13
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-27 04:22:20 Reply

At 12/27/10 12:41 AM, jpbear wrote:
At 12/26/10 07:14 PM, darthduba wrote: When I'm working on a project I usually get stuck at the point where FL starts making crackling noises an I become unable of continueing. This usually happens when I have created multiple instruments in sytrus, or layer several instruments with reeverb on it.

Does it have something to do with CPU ? Is there any way to prevent this from happening ?

Duba
its inevitable(apart from getting a better soundcard/computer of course), but when over tweaking/creating synths by hand on sytrus you get MASSIVE cpu usage, as in pretty much dont create your own synths or dont tweak much from presets. But thats probably cause i dont know how to synthesize that well. Also the unison chorus feature on the main panel in sytrus boosts cpu MAJORLY so try to avoid that. I love sytrus but i hate the cpu load.

Yeah I use that chorus feature on the front on almost every synth I make. I think it provides awesome sound. Sucks that I have to make a choice between a good sound or a smooth program ...


BBS Signature
Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-27 11:27:00 Reply

At 12/27/10 12:24 AM, ganon95 wrote: hiya, im looking for instruction on how to automate something
i don't think its filtering, i know how to do that, filtering sounds different

lol its just a low pass filter