Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 465,099 Views
  • 6,782 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
B0UNC3
B0UNC3
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-22 17:11:21 Reply

Hey there fellow Fl Studio users. I've gone back to FL Studio for the speedy workflow when I'm making "VG music" but as always with FL Studio there are problems all over!

I've always been wanting some heavy metal riffs for my battle themes and whatnot and I just recently discovered this awesome pack for NI Kontakt 4.

Now the thing that stumps me is that it will load an instance fine one time in FL Studio, but FL Studio will not be able to load a project with Kontakt 4 in it afterwards.

I went ahead and checked every possible solution I could think of, (including testing cracked versions of said full version).

Things I've already tested:
Turning on/off multithreading, plugin reset on transport, sound drivers, compatibility modes, reinstalling FL Studio / Kontakt player, virus/(whatevz)ware scans.

I've googled this problem along with my general erratic daw's behaviour and have not found a single result that helped or even came close to representing a similar problem.

That being, if anything at all happens FL studio freezes with empty dialog boxes and has to have the process terminated Ctrl-Alt-Del style. This applies to Fl studio versions 7-9.0.3. I'm suspecting FL studio (being a purely 32 bit program) works like a shitbrick on a 64bit system but that doesn't explain why FL 6 and below works properly.

However FL Studio 7 and up has features that I NEED so downgrading isn't an option at all for me.

These problems apply to other computers aswell as a legit/not so legit copy of the daw.

I guess I've got to correct this if it makes no sense later, I'm kinda multi-multi-multitasking atm.

Feel free to add b0unc3.music@gmail.com as I'd love to solve this problem as fast as possible.

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate

At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

Envy
Envy
  • Member since: Aug. 7, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-22 20:25:58 Reply

It wasn't a fix, but it lets you know you aren't alone.


At 3/27/11 10:22 PM, sugarsimon wrote:
the brilliant songs who create a production for music
Wat

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-22 20:40:13 Reply

At 11/22/10 05:11 PM, B0UNC3 wrote: stuff

Are you using windows 7? If you are, try going into Control Panal >> User Account >> User Account Control--change the setting to the lowest one, then restart your computer and try it again in Fl studio.

If that works then that means you need to move your vst folder out of the program files and into something that doesnt need special permission (dont forget to change you settings back either way though!)

B0UNC3
B0UNC3
  • Member since: Jan. 4, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-24 07:38:54 Reply

At 11/22/10 08:40 PM, LogicalDefiance wrote:
At 11/22/10 05:11 PM, B0UNC3 wrote: stuff
Stuffed

That wasn't at all related, but thanks anyway :). No I'm actually still using what came preinstalled on my laptop (Vista 64). It seems that the problems are non existant inside a VM running XP 32.
It raises quite a few questions though.

Stoerphunk
Stoerphunk
  • Member since: Jun. 20, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-24 11:54:24 Reply

So, here are my 2 submissions for today:

  • SP - Taken (Drone/Ambient)
    SP - Taken (Drone/Ambient) by Stoerphunk

    Click to listen.

    Score
    1.17 / 5.00
    Type
    Song
    Genre
    Ambient
    Popularity
    28 Views
  • SP - Faux News
    SP - Faux News by Stoerphunk

    Click to listen.

    Score
    2.63 / 5.00
    Type
    Song
    Genre
    Miscellaneous
    Popularity
    11 Views

Enjoy!

Stoerphunk
Stoerphunk
  • Member since: Jun. 20, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-24 11:55:24 Reply

At 11/24/10 11:54 AM, Stoerphunk wrote: So, here are my 2 submissions for today:
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/3 78397
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/3 78412
Enjoy!

Sorry, wrong topic :O Damn, how to edit?

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-24 13:08:10 Reply

At 11/24/10 11:55 AM, Stoerphunk wrote:
At 11/24/10 11:54 AM, Stoerphunk wrote: So, here are my 2 submissions for today:
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/3 78397
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/3 78412
Enjoy!
Sorry, wrong topic :O Damn, how to edit?

click reply, then hold ALT and press F4

SeeD419
SeeD419
  • Member since: Mar. 24, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 27
Programmer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-25 05:09:31 Reply

More dumb questions :/ Sorry guys...

Why do all my songs from FL sound way quieter compared to other artists? I mean, I'm watching the mixer and trying to prevent shit from maxing out in the red...am I supposed to just crank em all to high hell? Or is this due to me having no idea what compression is and never touching it...?

Question 2, I burned a couple songs of mine mostly for a lark, and they don't sound right in a car at all...like on a CD with other songs, they're way quieter and just sound awful compared to on a computer with headphones.

Just some things I've been wondering...anyone else experience this?


Minecraft server: proxa.co
PortalWatch 0.1 Alpha - Download
Sig by illicit

BBS Signature
Step
Step
  • Member since: Nov. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 25
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-25 11:34:37 Reply

At 11/25/10 05:09 AM, SeeD419 wrote: More dumb questions :/ Sorry guys...

Why do all my songs from FL sound way quieter compared to other artists? I mean, I'm watching the mixer and trying to prevent shit from maxing out in the red...am I supposed to just crank em all to high hell? Or is this due to me having no idea what compression is and never touching it...?

It's not such a bad thing that your song is a little quieter than other songs, but if you think it's necessary that your song is louder, then sure, it's not the end of the world if your song reaches the red. This is where EQing comes in - turning down some frequencies while amplifying others. Clipping occurs because of a clash of frequencies that different sounds you're using have, so EQing can help to track these clashing frequencies and turn them down a bit without significantly changing the original sound.

Here's a guide on EQing.


Review Request Club | CHECK THIS OUT | Formerly Supersteph54 | I'm an Audio Moderator. PM me for Audio Portal help.

BBS Signature
Step
Step
  • Member since: Nov. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 25
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-27 10:29:07 Reply

I'm having some problems with East/West again. Recently I upgraded to a new computer, and here are the specs:

4 GB RAM
2.7 Ghz Dualcore
Windows 7 64-bit OS
and I'm using FL Studio 9, with East/West Symphonic Orchestra Silver.

Before, when I hit the play button and there are East/West instruments playing, it'd start playing immediately, but the notes would oddly cut off, and FL Studio would stick occasionally.

Now that I have even better specs, it's ironically even worse. Sure, it plays near-perfectly without any jamming or notes cutting off, but my problem is that when I press play, FL Studio briefly jams (usually for around 2-5 seconds) and then starts playing.

The more I work on a project, the longer it jams when I press play. FL Studio starts playing immediately when I haven't loaded any East/West instruments, but when I have, even if I don't make East/West play any notes in the piano roll, it still jams, so clearly East/West is the problem. My friend has the same problem too, and he's running on even better specs in Windows 7 32-bit.

It's weird, but the fact that the East/West plugin was loaded into FL Studio makes it jam for a few seconds when I press play, and even if I'm playing a simple pattern with a drum beat in it, it jams. In certain FLP's, it can take up to 5 seconds before the song starts playing when I click the play button.

It gets worse too. Even when I move the playlist slider for it to play a particular section of the song it takes 2-5 seconds of jamming before it moves. I can't even highlight a section in the playlist or piano roll, since when I try to double-click on the bar at the top of the playlist or piano roll to start dragging the mouse, it will register the first click I did, jam for a few seconds, and because it jammed for those amount of seconds, it won't register the second (sorry if that's a bad explanation, I suck at explaining).

This is really strange because after FL Studio briefly jamms when I press the play button, it plays perfectly afterwards. It's only when I move the playlist slider or click on the play button that it jams.

TL;DR:
Whenever I have East/West Symphonic Orchestra Silver loaded into FL Studio and click on the play button or move the playlist/piano roll slider to a different section of the song, it jams for 2-5 seconds (depending on how CPU-hungry the project is).

Any help?


Review Request Club | CHECK THIS OUT | Formerly Supersteph54 | I'm an Audio Moderator. PM me for Audio Portal help.

BBS Signature
Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-27 11:39:37 Reply

At 11/27/10 10:29 AM, Supersteph54 wrote: delay on stream

Go to audio settings, and make sure to uncheck "Reset Plugin on Transport" down in the Mixer section of audio settings, also while you're down there make sure your re-sampling is set to 6point or linear.

Step
Step
  • Member since: Nov. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 25
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-27 12:28:39 Reply

At 11/27/10 11:39 AM, LogicalDefiance wrote: Go to audio settings, and make sure to uncheck "Reset Plugin on Transport" down in the Mixer section of audio settings, also while you're down there make sure your re-sampling is set to 6point or linear.

The unchecking worked like a charm. Thanks, I owe you one!


Review Request Club | CHECK THIS OUT | Formerly Supersteph54 | I'm an Audio Moderator. PM me for Audio Portal help.

BBS Signature
Reaper93
Reaper93
  • Member since: Sep. 4, 2007
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-27 12:33:31 Reply

At 11/25/10 11:34 AM, Supersteph54 wrote:
At 11/25/10 05:09 AM, SeeD419 wrote: More dumb questions :/ Sorry guys...

Why do all my songs from FL sound way quieter compared to other artists? I mean, I'm watching the mixer and trying to prevent shit from maxing out in the red...am I supposed to just crank em all to high hell? Or is this due to me having no idea what compression is and never touching it...?
It's not such a bad thing that your song is a little quieter than other songs, but if you think it's necessary that your song is louder, then sure, it's not the end of the world if your song reaches the red. This is where EQing comes in - turning down some frequencies while amplifying others. Clipping occurs because of a clash of frequencies that different sounds you're using have, so EQing can help to track these clashing frequencies and turn them down a bit without significantly changing the original sound.

Here's a guide on EQing.

EQing properly is one way to boost volume, but the general theory is as follows:

1) Make sure none of your instruments are clipping, or if they are, it's only the master track and only very rarely. This will help maintain a bit of dynamicism, whereas squashing everything with a compressor is no fun for anyone.

2) Utilize a multi-band compressor (a single band compressor also works but is not as good - FL Studio has a purpose-built plugin for this in Fruity Limiter or, more relevantly, Maximus) as a limiter/maximizer at the END of the master channel effects chain. This will be the last effect in the entire song before you hear it.

3) Tweak it until it brickwalls the song at +-0dB firstly, then apply makeup gain to taste - the makeup gain will increase the overall volume of your song. It is very important that you make certain the makeup gain doesn't push too many peaks into the red, or you'll get a very squashed sounding song! (The graphic display on Fruity Limiter/Maximus is very helpful for this reason).

4) If you want a louder song without it sounding squashed at the end, you need to squash it the right way at the beginning - if you use a bit of compression to help control peaking you can boost the sustain level of the track farther without the peaks clipping. Be warned, this will hurt dynamics!

Between removing unneeded sound during the body of mixing (through EQ, volume sliders, and splitting up the sound using panning), minimizing the impact of peaks on clipping (through compression primarily), and applying a judicious amount of makeup gain at the end of the process, your song can ride the 0dB line as hard as you want. The key is to show some restraint in just how loud you make it, because the louder it gets, the more chance there is that you're squashing your dynamics to get it there.

An additional tool to increase volume is sidechaining, which will help the kick cut through at a lower volume than it would otherwise need. It's the volume equivalent of a frequency notch except automated.

100Modem
100Modem
  • Member since: Feb. 14, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-27 13:59:08 Reply

Hmm does anyone here knows how to keep the "Record" button always on? I always record a single track (lets say channel 9), click on the disk icon to record, it asks me to name the file to save it, it records, but them when i stop, i have to repeat this entire process: go to channel 9 and press the disk icon again to record a new file and them the record button.
I record via SONG mode, into the playlist.

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-27 14:08:32 Reply

Go to tools -> one click audio recording -> into playlist. You still have to click the disk icon when recording a second click, but the record button stays on.

catgirl9111
catgirl9111
  • Member since: Jun. 16, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-27 23:31:21 Reply

a pepper?

DDman465
DDman465
  • Member since: Jul. 26, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-11-27 23:44:44 Reply

Need videos on how to properly master with Maximus. Stuff is confusing. Anyone got any?

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-02 07:24:28 Reply

At 11/27/10 11:44 PM, DDman465 wrote: Need videos on how to properly master with Maximus. Stuff is confusing. Anyone got any?

One search on youtube turned out with plenty, even ones from image-lines FL Studio Guru

At 12/2/10 07:14 AM, Skeepsis wrote: I want the listener to hear a slow increase in the "Amount" value for one of my Sakura instruments I'm using. I'm pretty sure this sort of thing is called Automation, any help with it?

Right click the "Amount" knob, click make automation clip, and edit the envelope clip that will appear in the playlist.

Or4nges
Or4nges
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-02 22:21:36 Reply

Ok here we go. In my automation clips it will only let me drag points up and down by mulitples of 2%, But I need it at 31%.

How can I fine tune the points on an automation clip?

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-02 22:31:54 Reply

If you need a lot of precision, right click on the knob and select edit events. Right click and drag in the events editor to make straight lines. When you are done, click the arrow in the upper left corner, and hit edit -> turn into automation clip. Stick it in the playlist, and viola.

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-02 22:43:32 Reply

I've thought of another way. Right click the knob and select create automation clip as usual. When the clip appears, double click on its title bar, and a settings window with min and max knobs will appear.

If you set the min knob to 31%, for example, 0% in the automation clip will correspond to a 31% value for the automated knob. Similarly, if the max knob is at 76%, 100% in the clip corresponds to a 76% value for the automated knob.

Set the min and max values to your preferred min and max values, then set up the automation clip so that it starts at 0% and ends at 100%.

Or4nges
Or4nges
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-02 23:41:11 Reply

At 12/2/10 10:43 PM, defegistor wrote:
Set the min and max values to your preferred min and max values, then set up the automation clip so that it starts at 0% and ends at 100%.

The first idea was a bit more practical, but I could probably use that one sometime for something simpler than a wobble bass :D

Thanks!

Or4nges
Or4nges
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-02 23:43:55 Reply

At 12/2/10 10:31 PM, defegistor wrote: If you need a lot of precision, right click on the knob and select edit events. Right click and drag in the events editor to make straight lines. When you are done, click the arrow in the upper left corner, and hit edit -> turn into automation clip. Stick it in the playlist, and viola.

Eh problem. Once I turn it into an automation clip is there a way to bring it back to the piano roll to edit?

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-03 00:05:19 Reply

Kind of, but only if you follow slightly different steps when creating the automation

After drawing your events in the events editor, don't do the turn into automation clip thing. Instead, navigate in the browser to current project -> patterns -> whatever pattern your event is in. The entry inside with a knob symbol in front is your events data. (If you click it, the events editor will open/close.)

Right click on the entry and click create automation clip. This will create a clip, but also preserve the original events data in case you want to modify it later. Just make sure you delete the events data (ctrl-a then the delete key while inside the events editor) after you've finalized your automation.

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-03 00:55:45 Reply

Scratch that browser post. It doesn't send all the events data to the clip, just the initial position. :(

You can always save automation by clicking on the arrow in the events editor, and going to file -> save automation, but beyond that you're stuck redrawing.

Or4nges
Or4nges
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-03 16:17:56 Reply

Bah alright. Tough world isn't it lol.

Next question! How can I make an automated LP or HP filter on a synth that didn't come with FL Studio?
The Fruity Fast LP Kinda sucks, and I can't right click and create automations on this synth.

Are there any free VST's out there for this? Or even some tricks I could do with an EQ?

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-03 16:31:24 Reply

At 12/3/10 04:17 PM, Or4nges wrote: How can I make an automated LP or HP filter on a synth that didn't come with FL Studio?

Tweak the synth's filter knob (ie move the knob a little bit.) Then go to Tools -> Last tweaked -> create automation clip.

The Fruity Fast LP Kinda sucks, and I can't right click and create automations on this synth.

Use Fruity Filter, Fruity Free Filter, or if you're feeling adventurous Fruity Love Philter.

You should be able to automate Fruity Fast LP though. Just right click on the cutoff knob and select create automation clip.

Or4nges
Or4nges
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-03 17:15:05 Reply

At 12/3/10 04:31 PM, defegistor wrote: Use Fruity Filter, Fruity Free Filter, or if you're feeling adventurous Fruity Love Philter.

You should be able to automate Fruity Fast LP though. Just right click on the cutoff knob and select create automation clip.

You're a fountain of knowledge lol. And yeah, I know how to automate the Fast LP, It just doesn't have a very high quality sound.

And here's yet another question: Can you automate the panning of an entire pattern? Or do I have to go through every single instrument and pan it.

defegistor
defegistor
  • Member since: Jul. 31, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 08
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2010-12-03 17:42:36 Reply

No, but you can send all the instruments you want to pan to a mixer channel and then pan the channel using Fruity Balance, Panomatic, or Stereo Enhancer.