00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Chan99 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

662,595 Views | 6,553 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2011-01-13 06:49:24

At 1/12/11 03:50 PM, InvisibleObserver wrote:
At 1/12/11 03:19 PM, dj-Jo wrote: Alright, I'm having some trouble with Sidechain Compression
I only get the route only to track selection when I right click
How do I get the Sidechain to track selection up :o
Don't really get your terminology use here.

This is my first time doing sidechaing so... yeah
It isn't complex.

1. Peak controller on the thing you want to have initiate the chain (unmute it generally unless you want it purely acting as a controller).

2. Right click a parameter elsewhere you want to connect to the peak controller.

3. Hit Link to controller, window opens up.

4. Set the internal controller to your peak control, peak setting.

Watch your knob/slider bounce around. Edit the peak settings on the peak controller to get it moving in the range you want it to. Usually for the typical 'sidechain' people are all googoo gaga over, you'll invert the imput, though you can do that with the base level in the peak controller anyways.

You can connect anything you can automate to the chain. Its just another type of automation.

This is the old (and cumbersome) way to do sidechaining IMO. In FL Studio 9 they included a handy-dandy sidechain feature on the Fruity Limiter as outlined by Image-Line's helpful FL Studio Guru tutorial here.

The Peak Controller method is good to know since it lets you automate filters and other things in interesting ways, but for sidechaining I prefer the new way :)

Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2011-01-13 07:01:13

Sidechaining