Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 410,927 Views
  • 6,695 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Robotronic94
Robotronic94
  • Member since: Oct. 1, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-07 20:35:32 Reply

So I think I posted this question earlier, although I have more information on the problem. If anyone remembers I had some trouble with static being added to my pieces in FL Studio.

I figured out it is with this VST plugin, DSK Overture, and it seemed to be causing the static in certain situations. Is there any ways to help control that while still using this VST plugin.

I found this very useful, as it has a nice range of orchestral instruments, it allows you to combines them together, and best of all, it's free. I've always been a big fan of free/open-source software, and I'd like to continue using this.

So I guess my question is, is it the VST plugin causing the problems, or my settings?

Robotronic94
Robotronic94
  • Member since: Oct. 1, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-07 20:38:21 Reply

Quick question, in FL Studio, I've seen screenshots of like notes people leave for themselves, like a small text editor. This would be really useful, so I could leave a project, and remember all the little details. Does anyone know how to use this?

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-07 20:49:56 Reply

At 5/7/12 08:38 PM, Robotronic94 wrote: Quick question, in FL Studio, I've seen screenshots of like notes people leave for themselves, like a small text editor. This would be really useful, so I could leave a project, and remember all the little details. Does anyone know how to use this?

it's a plugin called Fruity Notebook, it comes with the program

with DSK Overture are you using MIDI OUT channels to feed the notes into the individual instruments or are you using multiple instances of it? since i upgraded from FL9.5 to 10 i get crackling when i use multiple instances of certain plugins.


p.s. i am gay

Robotronic94
Robotronic94
  • Member since: Oct. 1, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-07 20:59:04 Reply

At 5/7/12 08:49 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 5/7/12 08:38 PM, Robotronic94 wrote: Quick question, in FL Studio, I've seen screenshots of like notes people leave for themselves, like a small text editor. This would be really useful, so I could leave a project, and remember all the little details. Does anyone know how to use this?
it's a plugin called Fruity Notebook, it comes with the program

with DSK Overture are you using MIDI OUT channels to feed the notes into the individual instruments or are you using multiple instances of it? since i upgraded from FL9.5 to 10 i get crackling when i use multiple instances of certain plugins.

I just had one instance of DSK Overture, and I was still getting crackling. It seemed to be worse if I used shorter notes, if that's helpful. I really don't know how to fix it. Are there any other free orchestral VST plugins I could use that wouldn't give me these problems?

Robotronic94
Robotronic94
  • Member since: Oct. 1, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-07 21:02:54 Reply

For some reason I don't have Fruity Notebook with my version of FL Studio.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-07 21:11:30 Reply

At 5/7/12 08:59 PM, Robotronic94 wrote: I just had one instance of DSK Overture, and I was still getting crackling. It seemed to be worse if I used shorter notes, if that's helpful. I really don't know how to fix it. Are there any other free orchestral VST plugins I could use that wouldn't give me these problems?

If you're using XXL then you could try some soundfonts in the FL soundfont player - can't think of any great free orchestral ones off the top of my head but I'm sure other dudes could rattle off a bunch.

Before you throw in the towel, is threaded processing turned on here and here?


p.s. i am gay

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-07 21:13:58 Reply

At 5/7/12 09:02 PM, Robotronic94 wrote: For some reason I don't have Fruity Notebook with my version of FL Studio.

Wacky! It's an effect rather than a generator, so make sure to check under "fruity effect plugins" in the plugin list in the mixer; it should be there by default.


p.s. i am gay

Robotronic94
Robotronic94
  • Member since: Oct. 1, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 18
Gamer
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-08 17:53:09 Reply

At 5/7/12 09:13 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 5/7/12 09:02 PM, Robotronic94 wrote: For some reason I don't have Fruity Notebook with my version of FL Studio.
Wacky! It's an effect rather than a generator, so make sure to check under "fruity effect plugins" in the plugin list in the mixer; it should be there by default.

Ok, I was just looking under generators, because I didn't even consider that it would be an effect. Why is it an effect anyway?

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-08 21:14:51 Reply

At 5/8/12 05:53 PM, Robotronic94 wrote: Ok, I was just looking under generators, because I didn't even consider that it would be an effect. Why is it an effect anyway?

Takes up less total space in the interface that way, I guess. All the other generators utilize note data in some way, too. It's an oddball in any case, but good for making self-contained tutorials.


p.s. i am gay

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-17 01:07:55 Reply

So i found out today that FL will read the bpm of a sample and change that bpm indicator as you move the knob i indicate.

This will make things a lot easier to fit to tempos, hope this elps guize.

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

MatrixGravity
MatrixGravity
  • Member since: Dec. 4, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-24 20:30:43 Reply

Does anybody here know how to remove a submix once you assign it to a channel on the mixer? I can't seem to figure it out for shit.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-24 21:37:07 Reply

At 5/24/12 08:30 PM, MatrixGravity wrote: Does anybody here know how to remove a submix once you assign it to a channel on the mixer? I can't seem to figure it out for shit.

Enable the send from master and right click-> reset the volume knob, disable the send to the other channel. I recommend just using the reverse this method to make submixes rather than using the menu - this way it's easier remember what you've done and you can start messing around with submixing in a more detailed way.


p.s. i am gay

TheZaaL
TheZaaL
  • Member since: Apr. 13, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-27 02:08:53 Reply

I don't know if somebody already posted this, but I didn't feel like browsing 200 pages...

It seems that when rendering, fl boosts the bass, and I don't like that. Each time I have to do some patch work, anybody help???


Computer has no brain. DEAL WITH IT!
Stupidity is a dangerous and contagious disease. It can happen to you. It can happen to me

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-27 02:52:17 Reply

At 5/27/12 02:08 AM, TheZaaL wrote: I don't know if somebody already posted this, but I didn't feel like browsing 200 pages...

It seems that when rendering, fl boosts the bass, and I don't like that. Each time I have to do some patch work, anybody help???

This shouldn't be happening. Has it always happened, and is it happening with every project file? Try rendering with "Disable max poly" and "HQ for all plugins" UNCHECKED. If it's just happening with one song go through your initialized controls (in browser, under Current Project > Patterns > Initialized controls) and make sure there isn't anything that would turn up the bass of the master or a particular instrument.


p.s. i am gay

houzatosis
houzatosis
  • Member since: Dec. 9, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Animator
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-27 02:59:25 Reply

At 5/27/12 02:08 AM, TheZaaL wrote: I don't know if somebody already posted this, but I didn't feel like browsing 200 pages...

It seems that when rendering, fl boosts the bass, and I don't like that. Each time I have to do some patch work, anybody help???

Are you using an ASIO4ALL driver? That driver seems to cut off lower frequencies while working on a project (I assume to allow lower latency while in a session) If you switch the audio output to DirectSound or Primary Sound Driver, then you should be able to hear the frequencies that are normally cut out.

jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-27 04:24:52 Reply

At 5/27/12 02:08 AM, TheZaaL wrote: I don't know if somebody already posted this, but I didn't feel like browsing 200 pages...

It seems that when rendering, fl boosts the bass, and I don't like that. Each time I have to do some patch work, anybody help???

badly mixed songs exported in mp3 can do this too you.

Used to happen to me all the time a couple years back.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-27 05:18:19 Reply

At 5/27/12 02:59 AM, houzatosis wrote:
At 5/27/12 02:08 AM, TheZaaL wrote: I don't know if somebody already posted this, but I didn't feel like browsing 200 pages...

It seems that when rendering, fl boosts the bass, and I don't like that. Each time I have to do some patch work, anybody help???
Are you using an ASIO4ALL driver? That driver seems to cut off lower frequencies while working on a project (I assume to allow lower latency while in a session) If you switch the audio output to DirectSound or Primary Sound Driver, then you should be able to hear the frequencies that are normally cut out.

1) wrong, asio4all doesn't do that and you are just hearing things.
2) how could you possibly come to the conclusion that cutting bass out could allow a driver to run at lower latency?
3) fl is supposedly BOOSTING his bass anyway. so, like, he should switch to the shitty directsound driver which apparently boosts the bass even more?
4) if you don't know what you're talking about don't post answers itt. cheers.


p.s. i am gay

houzatosis
houzatosis
  • Member since: Dec. 9, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 09
Animator
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-27 12:04:08 Reply

At 5/27/12 05:18 AM, midimachine wrote:
1) wrong, asio4all doesn't do that and you are just hearing things.
2) how could you possibly come to the conclusion that cutting bass out could allow a driver to run at lower latency?
3) fl is supposedly BOOSTING his bass anyway. so, like, he should switch to the shitty directsound driver which apparently boosts the bass even more?
4) if you don't know what you're talking about don't post answers itt. cheers.

I can still at least offer advice, whether it helps or not. No need to be a fucking tool.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-27 19:36:54 Reply

okay sure, you can give very bad advice itt if you'd like - just so long as you're willing to stand corrected!


p.s. i am gay

Nechura
Nechura
  • Member since: Jun. 5, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-28 06:26:19 Reply

Hey guys, me and mate are gonna' try doing some metal/electronic type stuff and I just wanted to know some methods for recording high quality guitar? I'm currently running a Zoom GFX pedal through a shitty Behringer usb interface and I'm not getting a very nice sound at all..

I know this isn't directly FL related but I'm gonna' be doing the mixing in FL so I thought here would be the best place to ask..

LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-28 15:43:17 Reply

At 5/28/12 02:28 PM, LaForge wrote: what the hell, FL9 Producer doesn't support .flac? i don't have access to the .wav of the track i'm trying to mix, so is there another lossless format i can use?

If I am not mistaken FL does support AIFF, but I can be wrong.


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SoundCloud || YouTube || Facebook
PM me for constructive reviews, collaborations or commissions!
Latest track: We Believe (OakMix)!

BBS Signature
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-28 20:47:18 Reply

At 5/28/12 02:28 PM, LaForge wrote: what the hell, FL9 Producer doesn't support .flac? i don't have access to the .wav of the track i'm trying to mix, so is there another lossless format i can use?

convert it to wav or aiff with the flac command line interface.

At 5/28/12 06:26 AM, Nechura wrote: Hey guys, me and mate are gonna' try doing some metal/electronic type stuff and I just wanted to know some methods for recording high quality guitar? I'm currently running a Zoom GFX pedal through a shitty Behringer usb interface and I'm not getting a very nice sound at all..

try running some amp/speaker sims with it. these guys make a bunch of decent free ones you can use instead of running through the multi-FX.


p.s. i am gay

TheZaaL
TheZaaL
  • Member since: Apr. 13, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-28 22:34:00 Reply

At 5/27/12 02:52 AM, midimachine wrote:
At 5/27/12 02:08 AM, TheZaaL wrote: I don't know if somebody already posted this, but I didn't feel like browsing 200 pages...
It seems that when rendering, fl boosts the bass, and I don't like that. Each time I have to do some patch work, anybody help???
This shouldn't be happening. Has it always happened, and is it happening with every project file? Try rendering with "Disable max poly" and "HQ for all plugins" UNCHECKED. If it's just happening with one song go through your initialized controls (in browser, under Current Project > Patterns > Initialized controls) and make sure there isn't anything that would turn up the bass of the master or a particular instrument.

Tried all of it, didn't work. It happens all the time too, so I guess I just suck at mixing??? And no, drivers are not the problem, I can garanty you that. But that was just curiosity, thanks for the time!!


Computer has no brain. DEAL WITH IT!
Stupidity is a dangerous and contagious disease. It can happen to you. It can happen to me

ChimeraNoise
ChimeraNoise
  • Member since: Apr. 1, 2011
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-29 03:05:03 Reply

@Zaal

Actually I have the same issue. I just drop the bass levels way low and keep exporting until they're at a decent level.


BBS Signature
The-iMortal
The-iMortal
  • Member since: Aug. 30, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-29 03:26:08 Reply

At 5/29/12 03:05 AM, ChimeraNoise wrote:
@Zaal
Actually I have the same issue. I just drop the bass levels way low and keep exporting until they're at a decent level.

This may seem a bit too obvious, but all media players sound different, and the media player you listen to will have a slightly different sound to what you were hearing when working on tracks in your DAW. I find iTunes has a more crisp sound, as Windows Media Player has a much more bass heavy sound, as VLC Media Player has a muddy sound.

To find out if this is your problem, export your track as a .wav, import it into FL Studio, and see how it sounds running through FL.

LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-29 03:48:42 Reply

At 5/29/12 03:26 AM, The-iMortal wrote: This may seem a bit too obvious, but all media players sound different, and the media player you listen to will have a slightly different sound to what you were hearing when working on tracks in your DAW

Now that you mention it, isn't it possible that the equalizer in your player is set so that the bass is boosted? Just sayin'...


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SoundCloud || YouTube || Facebook
PM me for constructive reviews, collaborations or commissions!
Latest track: We Believe (OakMix)!

BBS Signature
Nechura
Nechura
  • Member since: Jun. 5, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-29 07:55:06 Reply

At 5/28/12 10:34 PM, TheZaaL wrote: Tried all of it, didn't work. It happens all the time too, so I guess I just suck at mixing??? And no, drivers are not the problem, I can garanty you that. But that was just curiosity, thanks for the time!!

Is your track peaking over 0dB on the master track? I know that clipping problems won't generally present themselves until the track is rendered so if this is the case then try putting a fruity limiter on the master track and bringing down the gain until the track doesn't peak above 0dB. Then render it and see if the bass problem still exists.

I know clipping will generally 'cause the track to sound more distorted overall but it's just a thought.

TheZaaL
TheZaaL
  • Member since: Apr. 13, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-29 11:24:07 Reply

@ChimeraNoise

Usually I just lower bass frequencies and boost at 60 khz and at 160 khz, it gives a clear sound without overpowered bass

@The-iMortal

It was a bit too obvious for me, thanks!

@ LiquidOoze

WOAH! I feel SO dumb right now! Thanks!!

@Nechura

Peaking above 0db creates distortion, not bass boost!! And of course I got a limiter on my master, what a question!!


Computer has no brain. DEAL WITH IT!
Stupidity is a dangerous and contagious disease. It can happen to you. It can happen to me

LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-29 13:32:22 Reply

At 5/29/12 01:22 PM, LaForge wrote: is this a problem?

What happens when you normalize it? Does the dB-meter peak too high then? If it doesn't everything is fine.


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SoundCloud || YouTube || Facebook
PM me for constructive reviews, collaborations or commissions!
Latest track: We Believe (OakMix)!

BBS Signature
LiquidOoze
LiquidOoze
  • Member since: May. 13, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2012-05-29 15:40:33 Reply

At 5/29/12 03:25 PM, LaForge wrote:
At 5/29/12 01:32 PM, LiquidOoze wrote:
At 5/29/12 01:22 PM, LaForge wrote: is this a problem?
What happens when you normalize it? Does the dB-meter peak too high then? If it doesn't everything is fine.
peaks like Mount Everest. straight into the blood-red.

Have you put an effect on the mixer channel that could make the dB-meter peak? Because normally the waveform and the dB-meter should be linear.


[Hidden Audio Gems]
SoundCloud || YouTube || Facebook
PM me for constructive reviews, collaborations or commissions!
Latest track: We Believe (OakMix)!

BBS Signature