00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Yamusy just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Do you think I am a good musician?

1,662 Views | 14 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

I've never had much confidence in what I did with music, only recently have I decided to see my music in another light and actually think it might be half decent, but I am always improving and my standards are set so high that I feel like I will never achieve them, or it might take a very considerable and different path to tread with many sleepless nights and every ounce of energy spent in order to get anywhere where I am at least somewhat satisfied with what I create.

I've travelled through several genres of music mostly for the fact that I wanted to see what genres I would perform well under, that and it was fun experimenting with different textures, rhythms, sounds, synths and everything else in between, it gave me experience in how instruments work, orchestral and electronic, what works and doesn't, and how some instruments can seamlessly blend with one another or create a very unique sound when certain notes are played.

I've always wanted to take my music further, to actually make it a career, and it's something I am still to this very day, struggling with, I am just not sure where my style lies, what my music actually is. Is it a representation of me or someone I came up with inside of my head that is just taking control of what I write, which for all I care could be complete nonsense. I guess I could take music less seriously, and I have done so over the past few years, trying to just relax, forget everything, the theory, the standards, what I think I should do, and instead just do it from feeling alone, and it was a fun experiment. Ancient voices was one of those experiments, and previous tracks too.