00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

MicPix just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Music as a Career

4,667 Views | 49 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Response to Music as a Career 2014-12-22 03:55:41

At 12/21/14 07:11 PM, TheAudioGuy wrote:
At 12/21/14 07:06 AM, Troisnyx wrote:
KgZ, the professional musician, posting advice on, guess what, an ONLINE FORUM!
who?

This is something I would normally joke about, but deprivation of it along with past abuse has driven me to anger and resolve to make music a career. I won't tolerate anyone who tries to make light of this.
what?

Oh, don't try to play dumb. There was a thread by KgZ, "I'm a Musician at Harmonix, AMA!" and people were seeking advice from him. You never even stopped him, or stopped to scoff at anyone by saying, "pitiful, people looking for music advice on an online forum," did you? He was a professional musician going to -- guess what -- AN ONLINE FORUM! -- to share what he had with people who aspire to make music like he does.

Commodore 64 composer Jeroen Tel was part of the Newgrounds Audio Portal Skype Chat for a time, before he left due to some people's childish attitudes. He, too, at least had the decency to share what he did through online means.

I would normally joke about finding music advice through an online forum, but I won't now. I'd been deprived of the chance by my parents, who threatened to send me away penniless while I was not of legal working age if I ever pleaded to study music again. Knowing their temperament, they would have certainly gone through with their threats. That, and being beaten up for composing music. All this abuse leaves me no choice but to seek help anywhere I can find it. And what's more, I'm not the only one having been through this situation.