00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

4ng3lzh4untm3 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Trying to Find a Game Theme

1,497 Views | 8 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Trying to Find a Game Theme 2014-05-17 19:59:40

This is a repost, but it was suggested that I should ask again here. Sorry if that is uncouth.

I have been working for many months on my first commercial game release on Android. The game will be called Heartbreak and it is meant to be a casual, but challenging Breakout-inspired game. You can see a glimpse of the game's basic look (from an early prototype) here.

As you may note, the music in that video is the superb Strike Back by Modigs. Heartbreak was originally made for the 2013 Game Jam and Strike Back was chosen as the theme song for the game. It has remained a constant part of Heartbreak in every iteration since and I think it's pretty much perfect for the mood I want to convey. I like how it has a mysterious tone while still being upbeat and exciting, but it doesn't come out the gate lie an angry bull; instead, it starts with a punch, then draws back, letting the mood build, before breaking in again with a good, strong beat that matches the heart beating on screen.