00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

blakenator9872 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

This must be said! ::State of NG::

1,441 Views | 24 Replies

Hello fellow NG users.
I must address something. First let me say that I am relatively new to NG, I have been here for a couple of months and am only like level 6 or 7 I think. Anyway. I prodominately vote straight from the portal. I feel, for some reason, that this is the noble thing to do, that way new submitions get just as much attention as the classics. I go through the vaults when I have time, but most of my voting goes to the portal. So tonight I decided to kick back and watch the all time top 10 or 15 entries on NG. And my response was:

What the hell is going on around here?

Don't get me wrong, there is some good stuff in there. And really all of the entries on the All Time best list are quality entries. But my God! Most of the top ones are mediocre at best! And the best ones are at the bottom of the list. The traits that seem to be the most common in the top entries are:
1.excessive violence meets thin to nonexsistant storyline
2.rip off of Japanese crap that sucked in the first place
3.pieces that LOOK pretty good but there is no animation going on-just pretty images being tweened around
4. blatant rip offs of previously successful flash (happy tree friends ring a bell?)