00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Lmaoghosthh just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Getting paid through writing

276 Views | 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Getting paid through writing 2024-01-23 11:35:18

As we all know it's a bit easier to get paid for your art,music,voice acting and even your editing skills, but what about freelance writing?, Now I'm not really a screenwriter, I'm an animator but I was curious as to where or how you freelance script writers normally find paid gigs, the help wanted section on newgrounds is pretty dried up I'd like to get some recommendations for a friend of mine looking to get his foot in the door with his writing, preferably were the beariar to entry is pretty low, all suggestions are welcome.

Response to Getting paid through writing 2024-01-29 12:32:23

I don't think you can earn money by Freelance writing, if we stick up to that definition. The process is always about finding publisher, or producer if we talk about movie scripts, and that collaboration will pretty much always have influence over written work. First example that comes in my mind is Tolkiens "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy, which was supposed to be one long book, but the editor convinced Tolkien to split it up. In this example it resulted for the better, but I remember once listening to a writer, that I dont remember name of, where she talked about how one character in her books was supposed to talk with broken grammar and editor just couldn't accept that resulting in "fixing it" constantly.

I think there may be something as Freelance writing, but for that you would already need to be a famous or wanted writer to begin with, so you could make your own rules.

BBS Signature

Response to Getting paid through writing 2024-01-30 13:39:53

At 1/23/24 11:35 AM, myhead3 wrote: