00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

mihaithecool just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

do you usually record or click and drag?

369 Views | 11 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

i only click and drag in fl studio because i don't know how to play something in tempo. are there any pros in recording?

BBS Signature

I've been writing music for 16 years and I can count on one hand the number of times I've recorded my notes in. I always click them in. With that said, every other producer I talk to thinks I'm weird for this, so take it with a grain've salt.

BBS Signature

Response to do you usually record or click and drag? 2023-12-26 11:04:47

I tend to play things in where I can, but will occasionally do a bit of point and click.

My feeling is that playing things/or trying to is a good way of improving on that instrument. After all, the only real way of improving is by doing - and playing an instrument should be fun and something that you want to do and improve at as a musician/producer.

If you can't play something at a particular tempo, slow it down in your DAW to a tempo that you can play it at and record that way, then speed it up.

I don't think there's anything wrong with drawing in stuff - I just think there is sometimes a risk that it can end up a little robotic.

Ultimately, only you can decide the best way to express yourself and what your ideal workflow is, but it takes effort, whether you focus that effort on playing an instrument well or production chops, or some middle ground.

I got tired of only clicking in fl studio piano rolls - because i want to input and hear one chord, not just one note- bought a small midi keyboard, that came with ableton live lite.

The various ways you can record and re-record ideas without ever clicking; and not needing to play in real time either, got me hooked.