00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

s4kuna just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

What is your biggest demotivation when it comes to projects?

1,257 Views | 61 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Sometime I think to myself that people will never give my comic or future game a chance

That no matter how much I try people just won't care enough to give my works a look...but then I remember that I literally just started my comic this year and that my game hasn't even entered the illustration stage yet, like duh no wonder they don't have an audience yet

Join the Death Note Collab!!!...If you wanna...○ × ○

Mine's "no one's going to see this" when it comes to what I do for work. I'm a concept artist that works on smaller projects for small studios; most of their projects fail, and if any of them do well, my stuff is preproduction work under NDA, so the general public still isn't going to see it. I spend most of my time drawing things for people with ideas that don't excite me, which will never be seen outside of a single boardroom.

The thing about being demotivated in that way is that when it's not a hobby, you still have to do it whether you feel like it or not. Working without (creative) motivation is practically my default at this point.

At 12/13/23 08:02 PM, VanVeleca wrote: Sometime I think to myself that people will never give my comic or future game a chance
That no matter how much I try people just won't care enough to give my works a look...but then I remember that I literally just started my comic this year and that my game hasn't even entered the illustration stage yet, like duh no wonder they don't have an audience yet

you can counter-act this by saying "That's showbiz baby!" to yourself everytime something underperforms.