00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Echo6261 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Are self-taught artists better than professionally-taught

709 Views | 31 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

At 12/1/23 07:09 PM, SporgyTheMenace wrote:
At 12/1/23 06:55 PM, Jojo wrote:
At 12/1/23 03:05 PM, SporgyTheMenace wrote:
At 12/1/23 12:34 PM, Jojo wrote: There are certainly points to be made about artists that are self-taught; however the term "self-taught" is pretty much never true as I'm pretty sure all of us self-taught artists had to go on the internet to find out what we know, but I suppose when you say "self-taught" you refer to teaching one's self outside of the normalities of regular teaching, which honestly can have great benefits as the minds of each individual work different and should be allowed to grow and change through neuroplasticity at their own pace. I honestly envision a future where education in general is more of a "learn what you wanna learn" kinda system, and that makes me so happy for the next generations.
From all the arguments and points in the thread, everyone seems to say or allude that "self-taught" really just means "unorthodox-taught" and say that neither is superior and is all dependent on the individual artist.

But we can all agree that amino users suck balls harder than their dick when they see anyone 14 and under.
I have never heard of aminoapps, but yeah, pedophiles can go to prison.
Imagine Reddit and Twitter had unholy incest baby, that's amino

Jesus Christ... That sounds genuinely awful.

Sorry for the long reply, but I'm going to write here as someone who has done both.