00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

officialkingcrab0 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Are self-taught artists better than professionally-taught

689 Views | 31 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

This is just a random thought to me but everytime when I see a young artist who went to art school, their art looks inferior to their self-taught counterparts.

I don't know, maybe I'm being too judgemental or I'm not a well-educated enough into the subject, but that's just my opinion. As every time I see a young professional-taught artist, their air has realistic bits in certain areas that makes it looks weird, odd faces, and a semi-uncanny valley effect.

I personally don't think it really makes a difference, as a self-taught artist.

I think it's less about whether you went to art school or not and more about how you choose to use the things you've learned. If someone went to art school and their art looked a bit uncanny, I'd probably think it wasn't the art school that made their art look like that, but rather the artist themselves. I'd just think they're using the things they've learned in a wrong way. Then again, there isn't really a "wrong way" in art in my opinion (unless you want to achieve proper realism and stuff), people can draw however they want even if it looks weird to other people.

Wacky characters and groovy patterns

BBS Signature

At 11/26/23 08:25 PM, SporgyTheMenace wrote: This is just a random thought to me but everytime when I see a young artist who went to art school, their art looks inferior to their self-taught counterparts.