00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

officialkingcrab0 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Song Structure?

413 Views | 13 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Song Structure? 2023-06-14 10:23:48

Musicians! How do y'all like to start off a song and structure it? Do y'all start with the bass and drums, or melody, maybe leads? I personally start with melody and bass.

Vestik

Response to Song Structure? 2023-06-14 11:26:02

I start with whatever I might have, be it lead, melody, chords or a drum line. Hell, I've started projects from a sound effect. It's easier to come up with accompanying elements to an idea instead of coming up with one from scratch, and as a momentum driven musician, I just try to write out whatever I might already have before I forget it

Response to Song Structure? 2023-06-14 11:43:18

At 6/14/23 11:26 AM, Jernemies wrote: I start with whatever I might have, be it lead, melody, chords or a drum line. Hell, I've started projects from a sound effect. It's easier to come up with accompanying elements to an idea instead of coming up with one from scratch, and as a momentum driven musician, I just try to write out whatever I might already have before I forget it

That's a great idea! I'll definitely try that out, and yeah I like to be momentum driven too.

Vestik

Response to Song Structure? 2023-06-14 12:24:26

I always create the drop first, then I make the second verse with drums and melodies and all the stuff. Then I make the beginning, typically using one of the melodies in verse 2 and maybe one from the drop. Put it all together and I’ve got a good start. I don’t really have a set song structure, though.

you guys like my tunes?

BBS Signature

Response to Song Structure? 2023-06-26 01:26:27