00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

s4kuna just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Looking for VA directing advice

950 Views | 5 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Looking for VA directing advice 2023-03-18 23:18:36

I am a 22(M) university student studying animation and I am currently working on my junior film. It is going to be a little over a minute long. For this project, I need three voice actors and I am looking to start my search on-campus before looking elsewhere. The voice acting is fairly minimal with a brief monologue and a brief dialogue with a total of 6 lines spoken. My issue is not finding the voice actors but, rather, I have no directing experience or actual professional voice acting experience and I am looking for advice in how to approach the vetting process for those interested in the roles and how a session is properly conducted.

The voice acting or even sound design in general is not required for the assignment, but I would like to go the extra mile to create a powerful portfolio piece and learn the ropes of all steps in the animation process (even those that aren't the actual animation part).

This is also not a high-profile or professional situation. I am a college student with no experience and am just going the extra mile on the assignment. I also do not anticipate to deal with professional voice actors, as I am recruiting from a state college campus meaning I am dealing with a mixed bag. This means I am not looking to get into the bureaucratic, contractual side of things. Basically the plan is to advertise the roles, attract novice VAs, go through the auditioning process, select the VAs, and have them do their performance with the tentative screenplay I have written up. I plan on paying them out of my own pocket for their work after negotiating rates.