00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Dexxterzlab just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

"ZJ Takes a Painting Class" Thread!

457 Views | 17 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hello Art Forum homies!

I recently started a "Beginners Painting" class in Maryland (It was one of my New Year's Resolutions) and have been sharing my progress to various people. While showing some of the pieces to @radiodark, she suggested that I make a thread here to get some feedback and suggestions on how to improve as an artist in this medium. I thought that was a pretty dope idea, so here we are!

I am open to ANY and ALL criticisms, but please remember that I'm just starting out as someone who considers himself to not be much of an artist. I'm sure that any regular in here is 10,000 times more talented than I am, but I'm eager to learn and do better!

Here's what I've created thus far in my first three weeks of the class:

iu_90831_1658435.jpg

iu_90832_1658435.jpg

iu_90833_1658435.jpg

Sig by BlueHippo - AMA

Formerly PuddinN64 - BBS, Icon, and Portal Mod

"Your friends love you anyway" - Check out Guinea Something Good!

BBS Signature

Response to "ZJ Takes a Painting Class" Thread! 2020-02-05 04:50:56

I’ve got to be honest, I’m the last person you’d wanna ask for meaningful criticism. But I wanna say that the starry painting is really well done. I love how the moon is brighter near its right edge. It also has the best tree in all of the paintings IMO, so you should try to draw more like that, I guess. I also love how the clouds in the second painting look. The way they fade in from the bottom is extremely pleasing to the eye.