00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Animatorlover25 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Copying Cartoons to Improve

736 Views | 11 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Copying Cartoons to Improve 2013-08-20 03:16:41

Hi, I'm an amateur cartoonist and I believe the best way to improve cartooning skills is looking at other people's art and copying it. I look at the reference and copy it the best I can in SAI. I've learned from John K's (Ren and Stimpy creator) site that it is not enough to copy, you must force yourself to pick out things about the drawing and try to see what you're learning. After that you should draw the character in a different pose to see if you learned anything. Like him, as a cartoonist my eyes fool me so it doesn't end up exactly the same (but I try to correct it by pasting the reference in photoshop and pasting the copy on another layer and then setting the transparency to a %- not sure this is a good idea or not) but it comes out pretty similar after that.

It's a time-consuming process, and I end up learning some things, but I forget most of it especially after a while (I remember John K saying that the information remains in your subconscious after you forget- is this true? I want to get the best out of my time spent copying things and I'm wondering if any of you can offer me some advice and tips on the matter- like what I should copy, how to be more efficient, how I should do it, ect. Whatever comes to mind. It's not my favorite part of the process but I believe it's the most essential. From your experience, can you give me some advice?

Much appreciated- MooseTracks

Response to Copying Cartoons to Improve 2013-08-20 03:22:58