00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

SpyBaby just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Animater's Hardware

569 Views | 9 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Animater's Hardware 2011-10-28 13:06:47

I'm new to the animators world and was wondering what the best computer hardware was as to laptop tablets or any other hardware that makes the actual animation process a bit easier. As of right now I'm using my laptop's touchpad which get's a little bit annoying at times, haha.

Response to Animater's Hardware 2011-10-28 15:19:06

You can get Adobe flash for 699 or 700 USD. Also there are tablets like the Bamboo or Cintiqu I think you can get to draw by hand but on the computer. Photoshop is helpful as well. There's also Toon Boom.

Formerly Known As J-Rex

BBS Signature

Response to Animater's Hardware 2011-10-28 15:22:27

I personally prefer using a mouse. I hate touchpads because I have this nervous thing where my hands get really sweaty and ends up screwing it up. I only use the touch pad if I need to be extremely accurate and can't be with the mouse.

As for what makes animating a lot easier? Have a really good computer processor and high RAM, my 3 gigs suffices even though I get a few "Not Responding" times yet it still works. Any mobile processor of 2009 or later seems to suffice enough in CS5.5, so I say if you're around that you're golden for the time being.

I'm only messing with sprites, however, so it could be different for hand-drawn animations and much much longer animations.

The statement below is true.

The statement above is false.

Response to Animater's Hardware 2011-10-30 02:16:53

Know of any tablets that you plug into your computer and they act as your actual computer monitor?

Response to Animater's Hardware 2011-10-30 05:07:47