Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


enigmatic10enigmatic10

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 15, 2011

Many very serious issues need to be addressed

I am almost finished with the game but a few things need to be addressed. One is poison it does way more damage than shows a monster i was fighting had 350 HP poisoned it did 250 and killed it. Second is accuracy accuracy is very messed up i missed Dargon on Tristam(it had 4250 HP at the time) and i still did 500 damage for no reason whatsoever. Also, the game misinterprets things very badly for instance: i poisoned a monster with poison attack but the attack missed so why was the monster poisoned as it should not have been. Lastly, boss resistances really need to be standardized a boss in phase 1 being immune to a stat reduction but not immune in phase 2 makes no real sense.

Other than those things the game is actually quite good for what it is though just as a note i'm pretty sure it's Dragon not Dargon(unless you intended that of course)


People find this review helpful!

LP96LP96

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 18, 2011

Good Game. Fail Save

I saved the game more than 20 times and when I restarted my computer, the game data wasn't saved. I am disappointed that I dont have the motivation to continue playing this. But I ejoyed it up to level 10



FockipFockip

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 5, 2012

Was very buggy for me.



KjuraKjura

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 18, 2011

Good game, still has glitches

Overall good game, I enjoyed it so far (I'm on level 17). The music is great but gets repetitive very easily. I shut off music and turned on my MP3s after a couple of hours playing.

Game could be improved though. Encountered a few unintented (I'm sure) glitches:

1) No swords dropped at all, but I had approx 19 spears and 12 bows
2) Chests spawning in the middle of the room at the end of a fight.
3) The biggest breaking glitch there was (that made me stop for the time being) happens when you click on the menu, the bottom left button when you level up etc, immediately upon zoning into the next section of the map. I levelled and clicked to next zone before opening the menu, The menu popped up, the next screen loaded but was blank and I couldn't interact. Hadn't saved for over 10 minutes or so, therefore was quite frustrating.
4) Most minor issue was that after level 10+ from the 10th floor onwards, I hadn't gotten a single slime food at all till now (which is about 2-3 hours). I'm sure this isn't how it was intended, was it?

All in all, pretty fun game still!


People find this review helpful!

KillerDracoKillerDraco

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 20, 2011

Decent, but with potential

Well, I'd heard a lot of hype about this game with people saying it was the best thing since EBF. And being an RPG fan, naturally I thought I'd check it out. But upon playing it, while it wasn't a bad game by any means, I found that it didn't really live up to the hype. But, I come bearing constructive criticism.

The game was very simple in nature, but in a positive light, it made it very easy to pick up. However, it caused it to be a bit repetitive after a while as well. Every fight functions exactly the same; there is virtually no variation in strategy involved. The strategies of "multi-target spells on enemies" and "buff yourself and destroy on bosses" dominated every single fight. In fact, the buffs more or less trivialized even the "hardest" of bosses. Personally, I'd say buffs almost completely eliminate the challenge factor in this game; I'd go so far as to say they need to be scaled down a little bit.

The combat system seems like it could've been fleshed out a bit more. Each character tends to have a different element associated with them, but... the elements seem to be purely aesthetic in nature. Unless I'm missing something, it didn't seem as though they were any more or less effective on specific foes. Having different elemental weaknesses/resistances could help to incorporate more strategy into the game, and would also give added significance to re-spec'ing your characters' AP, in order to get a necessary element for a specific fight.

The controls are fairly standard for point and click games, so there's no complaints about that. Though one thing I found odd were the key shortcuts. They seemed a bit... half-done. You added key shortcuts for the four basic commands in battle, but that was it. When it came to selecting a target, a spell, an item, or cancelling, you'd have to go back to point and click regardless. It just seems a little odd that there's such limited key shortcuts; it makes me wonder why they're there at all.

The story is pretty basic stuff, and tends to be fairly uninspired. But it becomes evident early on that the story isn't meant to be taken seriously, instead adopting a more light-hearted feel to it. While the game may have some humorous moments, at times it seemed like it tried a little too hard to be funny, to the point where some of the dialogue just seemed... off. It didn't help that the characters tended to be entirely one-dimensional; they were pretty flat, especially Tristam and Phoebe. Every time one of them spoke, I couldn't help but cringe a little bit. Oh, and of course, a nod to Mystic Quest with the name references.

The gameplay itself is alright, but it seems like you overdid it a bit with the "random" dungeons. Having chests appear and disappear when entering rooms, in addition to battles, can be a bit... odd. This is especially true for battles, when I'd try to get a chest, only to get in a battle and have it disappear after winning. The fact that the Evil Cave was the entirety of the game robbed it of a bit of depth as well. Rather than just going down endlessly, there could've been a bit more variety involved, such as traveling to different areas rather than different floors. Plus, the dungeon crawling was a bit simple; aside from walking and engaging in battles, there was really nothing else going on in the dungeons. It tended to get a bit repetitive, especially after beating Dargon for the first time; after that, side quests ceased to exist, and it just become a perpetual dungeon crawl with nothing but walking and fighting.

The review may sound harsh, but it's not all bad. I did like the idea of an upgrade system rather than just constantly replacing old gear. And again, the game was easy to pick up, so it didn't take long to get going. It's simple RPG fun, but that simplicity is both a strength and a weakness. It's certainly not a bad game, but it has a lot of potential for improvement. It's a good game, but not great; however, there's no doubt in my mind that with a bit more effort it could become great.


People find this review helpful!