Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


FFfanatic123FFfanatic123

Rated 3 / 5 stars February 5, 2014

The loading is broken for me. The bar that says "loading", will appear for 2 seconds, then turn black. The slime in the bottom right isn't there, and it won't load at all, even if I reload the page itself. Can you please try to fix this?



ScelerSceler

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 26, 2013

Not bad, but the Zombie Defence Minigame is utterly stupid. The only thing you can do on hard an Expert is match them as quick as you can and hope that by random chance they start pairing up on their own after you matched one every now and then, otherwise it's lost and you've to start again.

Or in other words, no matter what you do, in hard and expert in the zombie minigame whether you win or not is completely decided on if the pictures randomly decide to match up by themselves.


People find this review helpful!

SwampyBunnySwampyBunny

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 9, 2011

its a decent game

it gets a little repetitive. it reminds me of pokemon too much... (shivers)



PanachinatorPanachinator

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 11, 2011

A resounding MEH

Good game, does nothing to break the mold of "generic RPG" and ultimately falls flat on its face.
It's a bloody bag of grind that you're forced into to get "achievements". Cool, explore every map tile of every floor which i will make increasingly large as you go and i will not reward you. Fight every batch of easy-ass monsters on the way too. Did I mention that you need to explore everything and grind monsters until your eyes bleed?
There are several nitpicks that just wreck the game for me. The characters are pretty lazily drawn and animated to the point where a great deal of monsters look better done. The "humour" consists of references to games, hurf durf 4th wall breaking, or just lame cartoon humour. Some missing menu options hurt your case too, like inability to go to the title screen or flee in combat. your bejeweled ripoff minigame is too muddy, and doesnt respond nearly fast enough to keep up which costs me the match every time i play expert. The tree system is uninspired, with some choices being way better than others (like rocket launcher vs. omnislash) and hamfisted spell entries that rob you of diversity..which begs the question why you'd even bother if they are all the same in the end. Oh and the inability to move the spells around is a real bummer too. I see a lot of items / spells that heal way more then you will EVER get which just makes me scratch my head and some attack spells are super weak in comparison to cheaper options. Chests appear and disappear at random, not that it matters since the contents are usually useless. The Slime feeding system is fine and dandy, but getting orange items is a pain and the stat up items are almost pointless. the random item thing is too expensive, but better than sliming. Attack animations and combat speed is too slow, makes an already grindy game much worse.

Been spending far too long grinding this game and i'm not even finished. it's just such a chore that i had to stop for awhile. This game would have been much better if you had paid closer attention to detail. I really hope that my review doesn't just get hosed because i didn't give you an auto 10 for your final fantasy "and that's why it's the best game ever" references.
Tl;DR It's bloody tedious and a generally mediocre RPG in every way shape and form. Fix it, or improve on the sequel.


Lan14n responds:

Sounds like you played the game at gunpoint.

This isn't meant to be a serious game. I am just an RPG fanboy that decided to make a game. Just chill, you sound too angry. I made the whole game on my own (except for the music). I am always offended when someone calls it lazy.


IROCKLIKEMYSLEFIROCKLIKEMYSLEF

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars April 12, 2013

its name is just like an other game called crystal saga and load a long time (at least half an hour)but other than that its good