Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2011 | 5:51 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 21, 2011
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Explore 7 5 Points Explore 7 floors
Om Nom 5 Points Feed your pet 5 food items
The King of Slime 5 Points Defeat King Slime
Warp 7 5 Points Discover 7 warps
Agent Defender 10 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Hard
Armory Master 10 Points Upgrade equipment 20 times
Be Like Paper 10 Points Defeat Rock
Bop on the Head 10 Points Defeat Bop
Explore 15 10 Points Explore 15 floors
Fighting Love 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Fighter Tech Tree
Heal Please 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Healer Tech Tree
Hunter 10 Points Collect 20 types of monsters in the Bestiary
Level 10 10 Points Have one character reach level 10
Level 25 10 Points Have one character reach level 25
Level 5 10 Points Have one character reach level 5
Mage Mastery 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Mage Tech Tree
Rare 10 Points Defeat one of the three rare monsters in the game
Rich Person 10 Points Acquire a total of 50,000 Gold
Rock and Rawr 10 Points Defeat Rock Twice
Rogue Squadron 10 Points Spend 30 points on the Rogue Tech Tree
Stuffed! 10 Points Feed your pet 30 food items
Warp 15 10 Points Discover 15 warps
Well I Didn't Vote For You 10 Points Defeat 5 Kings in the Wanted List
What, No Gravy? 10 Points Defeat Bop Twice
Beastmaster 25 Points Complete the Bestiary
Expert Defense 25 Points Beat Zombie Defense on Expert
Explore 30 25 Points Explore 30 floors
Kingslayer 25 Points Defeat all the Kings in the Wanted List
Level 50 25 Points Have one character reach level 50
Missing Cat 25 Points Complete the MISSING quest line
Slayers Dargon 25 Points Defeat Dargon
Stolen Hearts 25 Points Complete the STOLEN quest line
Warp 30 25 Points Discover all warps
Ultimate Slayers Dargon 50 Points Defeat Ultimate Dargon
Nyan Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Also check out our facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/C rystalStoryGame

Edit: Mobile version can be found here:
http://www.newgrounds.com /portal/view/581294

Crystal Story is a turn based rpg that uses a random dungeon generator. You control four characters and configure what skill sets they learn along the way. You can earn equipment upgrades that will help you traverse through Evil Cave by destroying monsters or playing minigames.

Whoa thanks for the reviews! I love you guys! :D

Edit: I have been hearing a lot about save files recently. You can backup your save files here:
C:\Users\(username)\AppDa ta\Roaming\Macromedia\Fla sh Player\#SharedObjects\(so me number)\uploads.ungrounde d.net\579000\579445_rpg.s wf
The file names should be rdgDataSlot(number)

Clearing cookies and/or cache will delete saves.

Also check out: (Awesome Art!)
http://kevinxnelms.devian tart.com/#/d49z6qp

Expert Defense :P
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=S5hwSQ58LUc

Game has been updated:
v1.1.1 (9-30-11)
Features added:
- added a mute button on the title screen

v1.1.0 (9-28-11)
Features added:
- Gamble shop (Players can now buy random equipment using gold)

Bugs Fixed:
- Fixed a crash when opening the menu while engaging a monster
- Fixed characters being able to cast skills while silenced
- Gold recieved from wanted monsters should now be rewarded properly
- Fixed a bug where mp can be greater than max mp
- Character stats should now update when changing equipment

Balance Changes:
- Slightly increased the price of armor upgrades

Reviews


BlueTazzBlueTazz

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

Old is Gold they say...

..... and when something is being reintroduced after so long (3 months), I agree.

10/10 for giving me welling nostalgia. Boo Hoo.


People find this review helpful!

javon1193javon1193

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

It was fun!

It was fun! but might i suggest if you plain on making another in the near future make it so you can NAME your own characters? moving with the arrow keys instead of mouse and adding a real city map where you can walk around in meat NPCs and do jobs for them? im sure if you did that you'd get a much higher rating!



danilolrdanilolr

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

Fun!

Nice and funny little rpg! well done!! keep up the good work!



Brawner5Brawner5

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

Classic

This is the type of RPG we were born with, and honestly, its the best kind there is.



super-captain-retardsuper-captain-retard

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2011

Great Game

So here's my review so far:

Graphics: 8
Playability: 10 (runs rather well on my laptop which isn't very strong.)
Storyline: 10 (for being a simple plot, it's humorous, and is still complex in it's own right.)
Sound: 10 (LOVED the music, especially the 3rd zone in the Evil Cave, and the boss theme.)
Miscellaneous: 9 (liked the upgrade system, and the randomizing of the floors, though it can be exploited, should one have the time, to run back and forth between two empty rooms to get the chests that will randomly appear. Also liked the mini game that came with this, Zombie Defense... though I have one issue with it at the same time; Expert mode has been deemed, by me, to be 'click once and hope everything falls into place' because the moment you find your big set of blocks you better hope it's connected to a lot of others or you won't win with the sheer numbers that arrive; it's in essence unbelievably unforgiving.)

The game works rather well, it's extremely enjoyable. I've noticed the same issues as the ones before.

1. The game scales really fast, and the fact that the enemies scale with you in random dungeons can be quite intimidating especially with enemies as powerful as they are just by lvl 10, such as the Bird enemies. Their magic is unbelievably devastating yet when you look them up in the beastiary they don't possess the magic attack for that kind of damage. (took 370 from Fire Wall from Bird King even with 85 MD)

2. Attack misses, but the ailment still lands? That's a problem, and can aggravate a lot of people. Helps that Cure can fail to actually rid the problem because you'll resist curing it...

3. While ally magic damage is also high, the amount of damage the spells do is ridiculously high. Spells from enemies like Frozoen, and Phoenix, as well as any Samurai, do way too much damage. But this can be averted should you get lucky; weaken their magic or buff your own MD and you should be fine.

4. Not really a complaint, but I would have given you better on graphics had you put a different image for each of the characters when in a dialogue spot, to show different emotions. Kaeli looks solemn even when she's punching Reuben's lights out, this however doesn't apply to adorable Phoebe.

-----

Overall, not finished with the game yet, but certainly enjoying watching Phoebe destroy bosses in 2 hits with Shockwave, and soon to be Quake, with an attack buff and the boss's defense reduced. Clocked at 1537 with Shockwave, and even stunned the boss.


People find this review helpful!