Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 25, 2011 | 9:19 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 27, 2011
  • Weekly 4th Place July 26, 2011

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

YOU GOTTA SHARE 5 Points Share this mind-bending space-rending life-ending game with your enemies.
BLACK AND WHITE 25 Points Complete ONE THIRD of the original levels.
SQUATTER 25 Points Beat the Star Move for 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
TWINKLE 25 Points Beat the Star Move for ONE THIRD of the original levels.
VAGRANT 25 Points Win 10 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLUSTER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
CONQUERER 50 Points Beat the Star Move for 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
RED SCARE 50 Points Complete TWO THIRDS of the original levels.
VACATIONER 50 Points Win 20 GapWorld levels created by other players.
CLOSURE 100 Points Complete ALL of the original levels.
GALAXY 100 Points Beat the Star Move for ALL of the original levels.
VOYAGER 100 Points Win 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WORLD DOMINION 100 Points Beat the Star Move for 30 GapWorld levels created by other players.
WHAT Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

WARNING:
Google Chrome has a built-in Flash Player, and ever since the new update causes a sound glitch to happen. Before the update, it never occurred, yet it's the SAME file. Honest. Newgrounds has also noted other problems with the new Chrome update regarding Flash: http://www.newgrounds.com /bbs/topic/1265535
So... you might want to use a different browser until Google fixes this, unless they're too busy figuring out what the hell to do with G+ now.

EDIT: Issue seems to be fixed now. I did nothing.

=====

BEST of GAPWORLD Blog: (remove spaces in URL)
http://gapmonsters.tumblr .com

Gap Monsters on KONGREGATE: (remove spaces in URL)
http://www.kongregate.com /games/nutcasenightmare/g ap-monsters

Gap Monsters on ARMORGAMES: (remove spaces in URL)
http://armorgames.com/pla y/12184/gap-monsters

=====

NOTE: You must be logged in on Newgrounds to submit your own levels. Everything else will still work fine.

EDIT: Over 300 GapWorld levels! You sadists.
EDIT: Over 800 GapWorld levels! You monsters.
EDIT: Over 1,000 GapWorld levels! You humans.

=====

Mind-bending, Space-rending, and Completely Innocent Creature's Life-ending.

In this negative-space puzzle game, you'll drag around holes, fall through walls, and bring myriads of miniature Monsters to madness.

Say you sadistically hunger for more levels, or you just detest the levels I've made. That's fine, you can play negative-space puzzles created by other Newgroundians! And you too, can make your own.

Use the Level Creator to design your very own puzzles, and share them with a cold uncaring world. More Monsters to torture, for the good of everyone else!

Think outside the box, fellow monsters.

Reviews


HDSonicCrafterHDSonicCrafter

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 30, 2013

Pretty cool game but the only thing i don't understand is that they scream


People find this review helpful!

TheraObeliscataTheraObeliscata

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 1, 2011

Fun... until my comp crashed.

Honestly, I liked the game. It was interesting, and there were many ways of beating a level, even if you didn't get the star point, if you manipulated the game enough. I thought that aspect was appealing, because often times in math there's more than one way to do things also, and those ways aren't necessarily wrong either. I love puzzle games, so combined with the ease of the controls (click + drag,) cute graphics and catchy little tune, I thought it was pretty entertaining.

My biggest peeve is that (as far as I know) your progress isn't saved? I was on one of the last few levels, and my computer froze, so I had to restart. Lost all my progress, as well as all motivation to beat the game. If you could add a save feature, or better yet and automatic save-feature, I would have liked the game better. Sometimes people can't just sit down and beat 45 levels all in a row.


Nutcasenightmare responds:

There IS an automatic save feature!

Everything autosaves: Level progress, Which GapWorld levels you've played, even the Level Creator.

I've no idea why it didn't work for your computer, though...


EdibleCastleEdibleCastle

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2011

nice.

this is cute, and pretty addictive. i lol'd when i first heard the monster get killed.

PS: i tried to load some user levels and it doesn't work. just loads the red menu bar on the left, which flashes continuously.


People find this review helpful!
Nutcasenightmare responds:

Yes, I've noticed that glitch. Ironically, that glitch appeared when I wanted to add something that was a lot, lot less serious.

And just as I was about to fix that, the Update Waiting Period kicked in. :(
So, it has already been fixed, and the update's on the way!

Also, the creator of Cuboy reviewing a game about monsters in cubes!
Nice.


trafficonetrafficone

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 30, 2011

:-/ but they're cute little guys

I love the mechanic. I just wish you didn't have the cute little guys look/sound so gross when you win.


Nutcasenightmare responds:

Yeah, they're pretty gross.
I shouldn't have based them off human faces.
Humans are pretty gross.


bbrtkibbrtki

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2011

Game crashed

The game crashed and killed my save progress T_T
Uncool.

Nice game, while it lasted though.
Amusing death sounds, and quite challenging puzzles!


Nutcasenightmare responds:

Oh, well that sucked.
No one else seemed to have that problem, but in any case, hopefully not too much was lost, because the game auto-saves along the way!

And if it didn't, the universe might be teaming up against you.
I know, I have first-hand experience in being teamed up against by universes.