Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 15, 2010 | 2:47 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Faster than a hedgehog 5 Points Grab a Pizza
Level Artist 10 Points Create a level
Stiefie Wunder 10 Points Bump into 500 mines in total
Ring Collector 25 Points Grab 1000 Rings in total
Ring King 50 Points Grab 5000 Rings in total
All Together now! 100 Points Unlock the other Runners
Hunter/Prey 100 Points Kick 30 mines against a boss.
Mission Complete! 100 Points Beat all missions
Fat Runner Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The cake is a lie. Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Lucky User Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Great Creator Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Run the Line Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
YOU WIN!!! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

18/12/10 - improved obstacles for mission 2C, 3C and 5C.
17/12/10 - reduced mine collision area.
15/12/10 - slowed down the animation.

Line Runner is back! Race through different obstacles by drawing a path for your runner. Collect rings for speed while avoiding the purple mines.

In addition to new levels and bosses, I introduce "LR Designer" - a built-in software for creating and sharing your own levels. Each level you upload to Newgrounds is entitled a scoreboard of its very own.

MOUSE MOVE - draw path
LEFT CLICK - dodge up or down
SPACE - pause
ARROWS - volume adjust

www.linerunner2.com

Reviews


Element-LeafElement-Leaf

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 17, 2010

So-so.

I like the premise of the game, but there's too many design issues that hinder my enjoyment of this game.

First off, the perspective is way too close. I can't see anything that's coming up because I'm jammed right next to my character.

Secondly, the visuals are crowded. This is where you should take a note from Solipskier and try to use easily identifiable color schemes. If it's fast paced, we need information at nothing more than a glance.

Lastly, the paintbrush is stuck on a single vertical line. Why can't I move it around the screen? I felt a severe disconnect controlling my character because of this. I can't prepare for anything by moving the brush forward. Remember, a computer mouse runs on a plane. If your game relies on the mouse, you need to consider this.

In the end, I'll give it a six and a two. I couldn't bring myself to enjoy it.


People find this review helpful!

ShmiShmi

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 16, 2010

ermm..

yeah... i didnt quite like this game. its really hard not to hit anything, especially when your going fast. so its like you go from being unable to see whats going on, to waiting 5 seconds to go through a ring over and over again.. not really entertaining to be honest..



MurudaiMurudai

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 15, 2010

Average

Solipskier was not particularly original, but it showed us how this kind of game can be done right. Stretch things out, give heaps of warning for obstacles and let the game flow better.

I played the original Line Runner a long time ago, and it was great, but you've made practically no improvements to the gameplay since then, where as better games have come and improved on the concept. Disappointing.


People find this review helpful!

KflameKflame

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 18, 2010

Its not bad but...

Its not great, its a little too hard and if your mouse accidently goes out of the window then the line just fucks around.



Rabid-AnimalsRabid-Animals

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 16, 2010

Plagued by excess.

This could have been another Mario Kart. This could have been classic. All the elements are there: interesting, adorable graphics, unique, pick-up-and-play style, and challenging gameplay. However, it's far from the allure of Mario Kart. I gave this game an hour and a half of my time, and I'm sure I'll give it more, but playing it is a bittersweet experience. For every joyous triumph I manage in gameplay, there seem to be multitudes of painful stylistic choices to slog through.

There's simply too much going on in the game at once. For something that's paced so fast, the game requires an amount of skill and practice to a degree where the game is an exercise, and no longer fun. I still haven't gotten a gold star on the first boss challenge. It's because no matter how fast I might be going, a bullet catches me, or a mine flies out of seemingly nowhere at a speed that I simply cannot avoid.

An absolutely unwieldy amount happens on screen during a race. There are fairly noticeable patterns in some areas, but that doesn't make them manageable. Between the apples that flip you upside down, throwing you into a mine if you're not spot on, and the portals that really don't do much at all other than disorient the player, the player is forced through the level like a confused sheep in a slaughterhouse, not knowing what pain could possibly be next.

Don't get me wrong, the game is fun in many spots, like the mine avoidance challenges, but the whole presentation just doesn't seem to care enough for the player. This may sound strange, but the dimensions of the game aren't big enough. A lot more reaction time is required for any reasonable amount of casual enjoyable gaming, so it needs to be wider. Regarding that, I found the flipping ability to be meaningless; not even once was I able to use that to my advantage (but that's just me, so I didn't take any points for that). I may have this game pegged wrong, but I don't think it's strictly for hardcore players, and there should be just a few more concessions to casual gaming.

The enemies shooting you in the back are rage-inducing. Please, please, please put some kind of indicator showing where the projectiles are coming from. They're on screen for no more than a second before they've blown up in the player's face or just gone. Avoiding that and the mines while going a million kilometers an hour while simultaneously trying to catch rings and balance the effects of the portals and apples is nearly impossible. Catching keys on the first go around, even by chance, is completely out of the question.

Excess is really what kills the game. The portals put me over the edge. Constantly, I was asking "Why are those even there? They're completely useless!" and while they might not be completely useless, they're just another distraction in an area where the player could do with some rings or just a couple seconds of slightly more relaxed coasting.

Another mechanic I didn't understand was the start boost. This game shouldn't put the beginning of the race (which can sometimes determine who wins or loses) solely into reflexes. Keep the boost if it's really integral, but don't start a loss at zero; it's just depressing to start of a race so slow as the enemy cruises along uninhibited.

The Medals and custom levels are a nice touch, though. They do add some replay value. Collecting keys is kind of cool, but it takes a lot of dedication, and I don't know if it matches the payoff.

I added this game to my Favorites because I want to see how it progresses. There's an untold amount to improve on, but there's a very pretty little something right now. Strip away the fat; you've already got the bows tied on and it doesn't need to look any better. I'll be very excited to see an update.


Lots of people find this review helpful!
Go0gley responds:

How can I not respond to such a detailed, constructive review. Overall I totally agree with you. All the faults you pointed out relate back to poor consideration of level design. Although I wasn't the designer (and not being entirely sure how differently Sebastien will respond), I believe excessive apples and portals are for showing off how fast the game engine can run. Your feedback made me realise the game is fine in terms of graphics and tech, yet something is missing - we forgot to centre the experience around the player.

I like your idea having an indicator for boss weapons, or even what obstacles are approaching ahead. Perhaps in the future if it ever happens, we may release an improved sequel with those features.

Thanks for the review. It was a pleasure to read.