Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 20, 2010 | 7:32 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 21, 2010
  • Weekly 4th Place September 22, 2010

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Read this before you vote/review
-------------------------
-------------------------
-----

[EDIT 4]
Front page!? Wow thanks for that :D

[EDIT 3]
Movie seems to load fine in Firefox

[EDIT 2]
Daily First? :O Thanks everyone :)

-----

-----

After a long year of very hard work (I tried, I really did), stuck using just flash happy mouse adventures because unfortunately I have no tablet or any other helpful programs to aid with the animation process, I finally present the first episode of RedHand.

!NOTE: The pieces in this episode weren't exactly animated in order, and the intro part was actually made last so you may notice a slight quality drop during the first piece, but the quality will pick up as the episode goes. Also: I haven't added the extras menu yet and the scene select/pieces menus
aren't yet working fully, plus there is an audio track missing along with a few sound effects, but this project has been delayed enough, though I will be sure to fix up and add those in ASAP.

It was one heck of an experience, both stressful and gratifying. I never expected this to be such a challenge. This would be my first decent animation in my 3 years of animating, but I wouldn't have gotten anywhere without the many months of constant support, advice, and guidance from Oscar as I did this project, thanks a million for all your help bro and to Yurlyn for helping me fix all the major problems with the movie :P

The adventure with getting all my collaborators was quite insane. I was turned down more times than I can tell you, mainly because the moment I told them I was animating with stick figures they completely shut me out, but I'm surprised how many incredible people agreed to help me in the end, especially Michael McConnohie, getting someone like him to do a voice was the LAST thing I every expected to happen. Its an incredible honor to feature him in my work.

This animation took much longer than I ever thought it would, because of many factors. One is I never made a storyboard, only a script, so sometimes I would think/work for hours, even days, to accomplish the perfect camera angle or character movements I thought would fit with the animation. And trying to draw decently without a tablet is not that easy...for me at least. Plus incredible collaborators don't just fall from the sky :)

I've also hid various easter eggs thought the movie, especially (but not just) quotes and references from various movies, games, shows, and animations, some obvious, some hard to find, some long and some short. (of course everything belongs to their respective owners^^, but i don't plan to do that kind of thing with quotes anymore) See if you can spot them all :P

Runtime is a little over 14 minutes, I hope you enjoy it!

Reviews


ScottPal13ScottPal13

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 16, 2012

Is the saying "I'd gladly kill you for free," from The Last Samurai? Amazing video by the way. I was enthralled throughout the movie.


People find this review helpful!

Inquisitorical-LadInquisitorical-Lad

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 23, 2012

Nice

I could say a lot of things I really liked about this, but decided to go with some constructive critique this time.

The scenes were too slow. If you speed up the animation a bit the flow would be much better, as it is now you sit waiting for the next thing to happen.

Waiting for the next one to come out ;)


People find this review helpful!
Shayphis responds:

I appreciate the feedback ^^, i'll be sure to keep this in mind while animating the second episode.


anim-modeleranim-modeler

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2011

IS THIS THERE ON.......

YOUTUBE
because you get like SO MANY VIEWS!!!
THIS ANIMATION LOOKS LIKE ANIME_VERSION ^^



GorcsiGorcsi

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 16, 2011

awesome

I really love this.Its totally remind me to Castle on the stickpage.I really love Castle and glad to see a movie like this!Please continue the story!Its mean me alot!



The-Great-OneThe-Great-One

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 13, 2011

Simply Amazing

Let's start from the beginning. The artwork and animation. Both are spot on and amazingly done, I have no complaints on them, although they are stick figures the timing and detail gone into them is just immaculate. The sound effects are perfect and this is important, mainly due to every little bit counting from footsteps as well as their terrain. The music choices were all outstanding and the voice acting from this cast was simply amazing. The story was a bit hard to follow at first, but I came to understand it and I can't wait to see more.

When it comes down to this flash movie you seem to be one of few Newgrounds members who have started to use Newgrounds properly in a way. Find and collaborate with others and all those you have found certainly make this flash shine. Kudos to you good sir.

|| Good Points ||
*Masterful Artwork
*Masterful Animation
*Masterful Sound
*Masterful Music
*Masterful Voice
*Masterful Story
*Perfect Score

|| Bad Points ||
(none)


People find this review helpful!
Shayphis responds:

Wow, thanks so much for the review man, i really appreciate it :)