Be a Supporter!

Ask your FruityLoops questions here

  • 490,275 Views
  • 6,766 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-22 11:33:46 Reply

At 10/22/13 10:17 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: hey guys, bk again, i have a bassline and i want to add some automated wobble to the end of each bar, how do i do this?

Automate the cutoff on a lowpass filter is the basic way of doing that.

Add a fruity free filter, change type to low pass with top left knob if its not already that, then right click cutoff(freq) knob and select create automation, then adjust the automation to your liking on the playlist.

I suggest messing with the resonance or "Q" setting as well to get a more pronounced or less pronounced wub. You can also play with other effects fading in and out to make more interesting texture. Chorus, Flanger, Distortion, Formant filters, compressors, EQ sweeps, etc.

Experiment, fail, learn, repeat.

FaeryTaleAdventurer
FaeryTaleAdventurer
  • Member since: Nov. 21, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-22 13:33:22 Reply

Does FL Studio got a page scroll mode?

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-22 14:02:23 Reply

At 10/22/13 01:33 PM, FaeryTaleAdventurer wrote: Does FL Studio got a page scroll mode?

What exactly do you mean?

One scrolling trick is to push in your mouse wheel and drag, that gives you both X & Y axis scrolling simultaneously(both playlist & piano roll). Another is if youre on your playlist you can hold shift and hit the down arrow key to automatically scroll down to the lowest placed track. Also, on the Sequencer PageUp & PageDown allows you to switch which channel group youre looking at.

Any of those what youre talking about?

FaeryTaleAdventurer
FaeryTaleAdventurer
  • Member since: Nov. 21, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-22 14:17:02 Reply

At 10/22/13 02:02 PM, Breed wrote:
At 10/22/13 01:33 PM, FaeryTaleAdventurer wrote: Does FL Studio got a page scroll mode?
What exactly do you mean?

One scrolling trick is to push in your mouse wheel and drag, that gives you both X & Y axis scrolling simultaneously(both playlist & piano roll). Another is if youre on your playlist you can hold shift and hit the down arrow key to automatically scroll down to the lowest placed track. Also, on the Sequencer PageUp & PageDown allows you to switch which channel group youre looking at.

Any of those what youre talking about?

More specifically: when playing back music that's got a significant amount of measures in length (left to right), FL Studio will automatically push forward a few measures as the playhead gets closer to the end of view.

Other DAWs such as Logic or Live have a "page" scrolling mode where when the playhead gets to a certain point near the end of the view, it automatically flashes forward to the next set of measures in the song (like turning a page really fast).

^this is what I was wondering--does FL Studio have a feature like this?

FaeryTaleAdventurer
FaeryTaleAdventurer
  • Member since: Nov. 21, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-22 14:22:29 Reply

At 10/22/13 02:17 PM, FaeryTaleAdventurer wrote:
Other DAWs such as Logic or Live have a "page" scrolling mode where when the playhead gets to a certain point near the end of the view, it automatically flashes forward to the next set of measures in the song

A whole screen's worth.

midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-22 18:44:19 Reply

At 10/22/13 01:33 PM, FaeryTaleAdventurer wrote: Does FL Studio got a page scroll mode?

Options > Auto Scroll?


p.s. i am gay

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-22 22:26:33 Reply

At 10/22/13 06:44 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 10/22/13 01:33 PM, FaeryTaleAdventurer wrote: Does FL Studio got a page scroll mode?
Options > Auto Scroll?

The answer is yes and the way to do it is what this guy just said.

DjAbbic
DjAbbic
  • Member since: Oct. 24, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-23 03:37:28 Reply

I'm noticing an odd issue that may or may not be based on luck. Sometimes, I find that my CPU usage on the FL indicator(I believe it shows up near the top of FL for the rest of you as well) varies each time I open my project.

For example, I open project1 and start to play to track. My CPU usage hits 90-95%. Then, I close project1.

I open project1 again, and this time my CPU usage peaks at 70%.

Is there any explanation to this variation (I did not open any new programs, nor did I run any new processes in each test) or is it just plain luck?

BlueOceans
BlueOceans
  • Member since: Oct. 9, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 07
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-23 11:07:18 Reply

Should the kick and bass be panned to opposite sides in dance music?

Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-23 11:26:51 Reply

At 10/23/13 11:07 AM, BlueOceans wrote: Should the kick and bass be panned to opposite sides in dance music?

I don't remember either of those needed panning in EDM.

or in any other genre
with the exception of the bass, pan that shit wherever you feel like it
'cept for the sub bass
8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-23 19:09:07 Reply

How do I insert a pause or rest into my music? Simply leaving a gap between patterns on the playlist does not achieve this properly as i still get stuff ringing into the gap.


Check out my EP ''Joystick Junkie''

BBS Signature
Yoshiii343
Yoshiii343
  • Member since: Mar. 8, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 17
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-23 19:42:27 Reply

At 10/23/13 07:09 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote: How do I insert a pause or rest into my music? Simply leaving a gap between patterns on the playlist does not achieve this properly as i still get stuff ringing into the gap.

That ringing is probably because of the reverb or delay effect of some of the instruments you have. Either automate the reverb's or delay's wet slider/knob.

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-24 00:15:37 Reply

At 10/23/13 11:07 AM, BlueOceans wrote: Should the kick and bass be panned to opposite sides in dance music?

Feel free to experiment a little with that but generally in EDM you dont want to pan anything low frequency very intensely. Keep things around or under 10% panning.

Also, dont use that as a cheat for getting them to work. A lot of people "hide" things in stereo, when what they really just need is better EQ and sidechain compression. Always double check a mix in mono to make sure things actually sound good together.

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-24 05:31:43 Reply

That ringing is probably because of the reverb or delay effect of some of the instruments you have. Either automate the reverb's or delay's wet slider/knob.

hm is this the only way?


Check out my EP ''Joystick Junkie''

BBS Signature
ForeverBound
ForeverBound
  • Member since: Apr. 4, 2012
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-24 05:34:45 Reply

it is the best way, but u can also automate the volumes of intruments and drop them there put u will hear that it won't sound good at all just like automation of the master volume to get a little gap. I advice to play with the reverb cause that will be the source of your problem

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-24 07:40:15 Reply

ok, il try that. Thanks


Check out my EP ''Joystick Junkie''

BBS Signature
Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-24 09:41:26 Reply

At 10/24/13 05:31 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote:
That ringing is probably because of the reverb or delay effect of some of the instruments you have. Either automate the reverb's or delay's wet slider/knob.
hm is this the only way?

I personally think its easier to automate the mute plugin on and off. If you have proper bussing than that should be the easiest way to do it.

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-24 17:00:28 Reply

At 10/24/13 09:41 AM, Breed wrote:
At 10/24/13 05:31 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote:

mute plugin on and off. If you have proper bussing than that should

Silly question but what do u mean by bussing?


Check out my EP ''Joystick Junkie''

BBS Signature
jpbear
jpbear
  • Member since: Apr. 24, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-24 18:30:45 Reply

At 10/24/13 05:00 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote:
At 10/24/13 09:41 AM, Breed wrote:
At 10/24/13 05:31 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote:

mute plugin on and off. If you have proper bussing than that should
Silly question but what do u mean by bussing?

mixer channel=bus

route it to a mixer channel

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-24 21:39:24 Reply

At 10/24/13 05:00 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote:
At 10/24/13 09:41 AM, Breed wrote:
At 10/24/13 05:31 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote:

mute plugin on and off. If you have proper bussing than that should
Silly question but what do u mean by bussing?

proper routing for using the mute plugin effectively. if its your drums you want to mute then it would be smart to have a subbuss set up for all your drums so you can just use one mute.

FaeryTaleAdventurer
FaeryTaleAdventurer
  • Member since: Nov. 21, 2010
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 02
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-25 13:21:11 Reply

At 10/22/13 10:26 PM, Breed wrote:
At 10/22/13 06:44 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 10/22/13 01:33 PM, FaeryTaleAdventurer wrote: Does FL Studio got a page scroll mode?
Options > Auto Scroll?
The answer is yes and the way to do it is what this guy just said.

hmmm, not quite; that feature just pushes forward a few measures automatically. Here's a visual example of what I'm looking for.
(see what happens at about 3:07)

TheFiercePixel
TheFiercePixel
  • Member since: May. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-27 20:16:31 Reply

I just open up FL Studio and now I can't access all of my sample packs through the browser.

Anyone got a solution for this!?

Ask your FruityLoops questions here


Stalk me on the internet and listen to my music.
SoundCloud
Twitter

BBS Signature
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-27 22:48:19 Reply

At 10/27/13 08:16 PM, TheFiercePixel wrote: I just open up FL Studio and now I can't access all of my sample packs through the browser.

Anyone got a solution for this!?

weird, when did that start happening?

anyway, you can go to Options > File Settings and then add the folders you want manually for now.


p.s. i am gay

TheFiercePixel
TheFiercePixel
  • Member since: May. 15, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-28 07:51:43 Reply

At 10/27/13 10:48 PM, midimachine wrote:
At 10/27/13 08:16 PM, TheFiercePixel wrote: I just open up FL Studio and now I can't access all of my sample packs through the browser.

Anyone got a solution for this!?
weird, when did that start happening?

anyway, you can go to Options > File Settings and then add the folders you want manually for now.

This is the first time it's ever happened.

Alright, thanks! ^^ I'll try that out now!


Stalk me on the internet and listen to my music.
SoundCloud
Twitter

BBS Signature
indefinitereaction
indefinitereaction
  • Member since: May. 7, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 04
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-10-28 08:45:15 Reply

At 10/24/13 12:15 AM, Breed wrote:
At 10/23/13 11:07 AM, BlueOceans wrote: Should the kick and bass be panned to opposite sides in dance music?
Feel free to experiment a little with that but generally in EDM you dont want to pan anything low frequency very intensely. Keep things around or under 10% panning.

Also, dont use that as a cheat for getting them to work. A lot of people "hide" things in stereo, when what they really just need is better EQ and sidechain compression. Always double check a mix in mono to make sure things actually sound good together.

This. Honestly the best answer on this whole page. You're better off finding sounds to fit the structure of the song you want to make, rather than forcing the sounds you have to fit in awkwardly.

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-11-03 07:12:47 Reply

What's best way to raise the volume of a track after its all been mixed etc? When I was done mixing I was at about -5db then after I mastering I ended up on 0db. I want to raise the volume, its not loud enough, but I don't want it to clip.


Check out my EP ''Joystick Junkie''

BBS Signature
midimachine
midimachine
  • Member since: Jan. 7, 2008
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 14
Audiophile
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-11-03 07:31:04 Reply

At 11/3/13 07:12 AM, 8-bitheroes wrote: What's best way to raise the volume of a track after its all been mixed etc? When I was done mixing I was at about -5db then after I mastering I ended up on 0db. I want to raise the volume, its not loud enough, but I don't want it to clip.

try a decent master compressor. endorphin is a really good free one, i used to use it to "master" speedcore stuff so it's definitely capable of loud haha (it's actually really nuanced and a great plugin, so yeah!)


p.s. i am gay

8-bitheroes
8-bitheroes
  • Member since: Jul. 14, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 06
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-11-04 16:24:08 Reply


try a decent master compressor. endorphin is a really good free one, i used to use it to "master" speedcore stuff so it's definitely capable of loud haha (it's actually really nuanced and a great plugin, so yeah!)

thanks that seems to be doing the trick! But im back with another question...
I have a drum loop which i want to sidechain to my kick and snare, how do i do this?


Check out my EP ''Joystick Junkie''

BBS Signature
Wburnett86
Wburnett86
  • Member since: Nov. 9, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 01
Blank Slate
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-11-09 00:43:08 Reply

Hey guys I'm working in nuendo and I'm trying to export a multi track audio file that has been rough mixed..so that I can write a beat to the track. When I open the file in fruity loops 9 producer edition..it's looping the first four bars of the imported track rather than allowing me to write a beat for the whole track. I would prefer to write the beat for certain segments of the track and cut and paste each part..verse, chorus, bridge etc. but it's keeps looping part of the imported track and only goes to 64 bars when my imported track is 74. Help!!!

Breed
Breed
  • Member since: Mar. 23, 2009
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 11
Musician
Response to Ask your FruityLoops questions here 2013-11-09 08:14:15 Reply

At 11/4/13 04:24 PM, 8-bitheroes wrote:

try a decent master compressor. endorphin is a really good free one, i used to use it to "master" speedcore stuff so it's definitely capable of loud haha (it's actually really nuanced and a great plugin, so yeah!)
thanks that seems to be doing the trick! But im back with another question...
I have a drum loop which i want to sidechain to my kick and snare, how do i do this?

Route the kick and snare to a sub buss without removing their master routing. Asign the loop to a buss. Add fruity peak controller to that sub buss (it will mute the sub buss which is good in this case cuz the originals will not be muted in their master routing). Right click the volume of the loop, and select Link to Controller. Select the sub buss peak in the dropdown menu in the middle of the link-to-controller settings. Then, set the graph to inverted using its drop down menu, then click accept. You can now adjust the peak controller settings to effectively side chain to both the kick and snare without touching the originals.