00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

UmanaJose just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Game Devs: How to classify games?

366 Views | 5 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Game Devs: How to classify games? 2017-04-03 14:32:13

Hey there!

I have a question for you guys: how would you go about classifying a game you developed?

I’m a student at the Illinois Institute of Technology and I’m looking for your help. We're running an online research study to develop a measure of game experience, and we're looking for input from game developers on game definitions through our 15-minute survey. It's all fully confidential, and I would be more than happy to provide you further details or answer any questions about my research and this study on this topic thread.

Survey Link: https://iitresearchrs.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_5pZK3z7ZkG9AQsZ

You may find it surprising (or not, probably not) that academicians haven't figured a "proper" way to classify games, so game developer input is very appreciated. You guys contribute to science. Thank you!

Although I would like a response to the survey, I'd also love a discussion on the matter here on the forums!

Best,
Green

The survey is not laid out in a good format, I probably play 6 hours a week, 1 third of it is puzzle games, a third is action adventure, the rest is 5+ other genres. I now have to split 7 genres into 6 hours at 1 hour increments, there's a lot of genres I like but don't account for my 6 hours of my recent weekly game time.

The whole survey I'm just trying to figure out how I should lie. Should I round up simulation games to a full hour, making the sum of my play time for individual genres greater than 6 hours, which I claim to play, or should I lie and say I play 7 hours.