00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Cuddlymuffintop just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Orchestral Template Creation & DAWs

1,863 Views | 8 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hey there folks,

lately i have been trying to setup a large orchestral template again but noticed that there are big differences between the availiable DAWs on the market. Many of you do know that i am a convinced Logic Pro X user. But if you want to write mainly orchestral tracks with minimum 100-200 midi / audio tracks then (at least IMO) logic might not be the best case. I also got Pro Tools 12 but i only use it for editing audio, the midi editors might be strong, too, but to be honest: I just HATE the optic of the program ...

The problem with Logic was as follows:

I created loads of track stacks to get all my tracks in order. Usually i want as many articulations at my fingertips as possible and my go-to String library is Hollywood Strings Diamond, which has got the big disadvantage, that i get tons of tracks in the end. I do know i can also load them into PLAY as multis, but that also becomes ultra confusing and sometimes my midi controllers seem to have malifunctions if i do that.

In the end i am going for an mid-size orchestral template with about 500 - 1.000 tracks... and here come the problems:
- as far as i know logic only allows 256 tracks midi, 256 tracks audio and 256 tracks aux. So if someone wants a larger template seems to be a problem