00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Ryor just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Pat's 3D projects

2,347 Views | 31 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Pat's 3D projects 2015-10-29 18:21:52

Seeing as my old art thread is years out of date, and far less professional than I would like it to be, not to mention buried deep deep within the forums, I figured it would be best to start a new one.

Here I will post screenshots or links of projects I work on and try to explain the creative process as well as my own thought process. I'm a student in 3D animation ( going to graduate soon but still so short on experience ), doing my best to learn and work with the medium. I'm loving it so far, but there's a mountain of things for me to learn and master, not only in 3D, but some problems I've had back with drawings that still apply here.

Your feedback is welcome. If you're one of the many other 3D artists I've seen popping up on the forum, feel free to ask questions or provide your own knowledge on stuff.

-----------------

The project I'm currently working on is an animation project I'm doing for my portfolio and final project for my classes.
It's a simple, short fight scene, but we'll get to that in time.
The first step in the process was modeling the two characters, which I did in 3DS Max. Since this was oriented towards animation, the goal was to keep the meshes as simple as possible and have very few details in order to simplify the rigging and animating that would come later.

Pat's 3D projects

Response to Pat's 3D projects 2015-10-29 18:34:16

However, having a low poly mesh doesn't mean you can't have any details. My next step was to export the models as .OBJ files and import them as tools into Zbrush 4R7.