00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

GasGrass just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

'Text adventure' script?

1,387 Views | 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

'Text adventure' script? 2012-06-16 00:38:09

I'm a total, total noob to ActionScript.

All the programming work I've practiced is primitive C++, and, quite frankly, I have no clue how ActionScript syntax works.

Anyway, I'm making an old school text-based adventure game. I really only need two basic scripts for the game, but seeing as I don't know ActionScript in the slightest, I'm afraid I'm going to need some help. I require 1) a command bar that allows users to type various commands into the game, which functions differently depending on the scenario and 2) a 'switch' script; basically, if the 'switch' is on when X is typed, the game will do one thing, but if it's off, it'll do another.

I guess I can manage the rest myself, this is all I need. A lot of you have a ton more programming experience than I, and I made the scripts' functions as simple as possible to save you some of the work.

Help, please?

Response to 'Text adventure' script? 2012-06-16 01:09:28

switch(case) works the same in AS3 as it does in C++, same with 'if' and other core things, it really shouldn't be all that much learning.

If ya have something to say, PM me. I have a lot of time to spare.

Also never PM egg82.

BBS Signature

Response to 'Text adventure' script? 2012-06-16 10:48:31

At 6/16/12 01:09 AM, MintPaw wrote: switch(case) works the same in AS3 as it does in C++, same with 'if' and other core things, it really shouldn't be all that much learning.

ActionScript has the benefit of being able to use strings with a switch statement, too (whereas C++ cannot).

Response to 'Text adventure' script? 2012-06-18 01:40:54

At 6/16/12 10:48 AM, Diki wrote: