00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

LOCKdev just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Bass players

1,037 Views | 9 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Bass players 2009-05-02 16:47:04

I've noticed if you are trying to make a band. You go look through the musician's wanted sites, bass players are hard to find because if they are any good they are usually in a band. So as one of the minority of musicians I wanna talk shop.

Do you use a pick or your fingers? Whats your setup? What stage are you at?

I have been playing for 15 years. I've been in several bands and played everything from funk to heavy metal. Right now I'm building a bass amp. I ordered a 15 inch eminence replacement speaker and a 200 watt PA head from radio shack. It's probably not gonna be the best but I can gig with it and it is only costing me 150 buck with new equipment.

I have 3 basses but the one I use mose is a Ibanez SR300 4 string that I added a thumb rest too because I either play with my fingers or banjo picks. I had a crate combo amp with a 15 inch speaker in it at one time that I added a crossover to for kicks so I could add that speaker thumping bass sound, but that blew the speaker.

What are you playing?

"This is my Kung Fu, and it is strong."

BBS Signature

Response to Bass players 2009-05-02 16:57:11

I have a Boston rip off of a Fender something or other, that I got ripped off for when I bought it, because I didn't know how crap it was.
That was about 1 and a half years ago. I'd never played a bass guitar before that day.

I can comfortably pull off playing poppy punk rock, and that's about it.

I don't have any gear because I'm a poor bum who can't get a job. And when I do have money, going out and getting drunk takes priority over anything bass related. As does guitar and various gadgets for recording and producing.