00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

NobeastcanDefeatme just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

AS3: Drawing Rectangles and circles

4,617 Views | 2 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Ok, so I'm pretty new to AS3, but I don't think anyone has wrote a tutorial on how to draw rectangles and circles to the screen using AS3, so I did. Here it is.

import flash.display.*;
//The above line imports the stuff needed to draw the shapes.

var mc1: MovieClip = new MovieClip();
//Creates a new empty movie clip called mc1

mc1.graphics.lineStyle(2);
//This defines the thickness of the outline of the shape, the lower the number the thinner the line.

mc1.graphics.beginFill(0xFF0000);
//This defines the coulour of the shape, replace the "FF0000" with the coulour you want, (Use THIS link to help you.

mc1.graphics.drawRect(250,250,100,100);
//This defines the size and position of the rectangle, the first number is the x position, the second number is the y position, the third is the width and the fourth is the height. To make a circle, simply replace "drawRect" with "drawCircle" and remove the last number, since the height and width of the circle will be the same.

this.addChild(mc1);
//the addChild command stores displayed objects in a list, the objects listed first are sent furthest back, the are no .Depth commands in AS3

BBS Signature

Response to AS3: Drawing Rectangles and circles 2007-10-10 13:40:20

This tut is reasonably ok, but I think it not handy and useful to use when you can draw it in like 2 seconds

Ruining your life since 2006

BBS Signature

Response to AS3: Drawing Rectangles and circles 2007-10-10 13:57:24

At 10/10/07 01:40 PM, LilFugitive wrote: This tut is reasonably ok, but I think it not handy and useful to use when you can draw it in like 2 seconds