00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

harkhan71 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Balance Between Art & School

153 Views | 3 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Balance Between Art & School 2022-08-31 23:05:30

I’m not sure if I already posted this sometime before, but here I go anyway: So I’m currently a full-time college student (I’m making up half of my Junior year, majoring in Fine Arts). I’m having a hard time motivating myself to work on my personal art projects, along with a current art collab, because my amount of schoolwork is pretty demanding. I tried a few times to work on my art during breaks, but I get so mentally fried from my schoolwork, I can barely focus on it for too long. Any advice on how to motivate myself to balance schoolwork and art projects?

Response to Balance Between Art & School 2022-09-01 05:48:21

If you’re going to school for art, I’m sorry to say, there’s going to be very little balance for the duration of the semester for personal projects.

I don’t know your workload, but I’m familiar with a few different potential art/animation/design school paths and they’re all gonna be a major grind.

As an extension of that, kind of the same goes for working in an art field. You’ll definitely have more time than in school, but you’re gonna have to reconcile that you spend your work day drawing, then come home and draw your personal work. The amount of art friends I have that have struggled/are struggling with finding this balance is pretty close to 100%.

Beyond that, here’s my post about overcoming artblock and other issues that get in the way of making art.

Response to Balance Between Art & School 2022-09-01 11:03:09