00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

LOCKdev just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Godot - Attack Animation Not Working

655 Views | 2 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

I am very new to game development and have no experience with coding. I've been following several Godot tutorials and google results to create my script so it might look very cobbled together. It's supposed to be a platformer.

Making my character walk, idle and jump all seems to be working fine, but when I try to Attack it only plays a millisecond of the first frame. Where did I go wrong and how can I fix this? (I'm still learning so if you can provide explanations with your answers to help me better understand things, I'd really appreciate it!)

extends KinematicBody2D

const UP = Vector2(0, -1)
const GRAVITY = 20
const ACCELERATION = 50
const MAX_SPEED = 500
const JUMP_HEIGHT = -700
var motion = Vector2()
var input_vector = Vector2()
var attack_playing = false

func _physics_process(delta):
    motion.y += GRAVITY
    var friction = false
    input_vector = Vector2.ZERO

if Input.is_action_pressed("ui_right"):
        motion.x = min(motion.x+ACCELERATION, MAX_SPEED)
        $Sprite.flip_h = false
        input_vector.x = 1
    elif Input.is_action_pressed("ui_left"):
        motion.x = max(motion.x-ACCELERATION, -MAX_SPEED)
        $Sprite.flip_h = true
        input_vector.x = -1
    else:
        friction = true

if is_on_floor():
        if Input.is_action_just_pressed("ui_up"):
            motion.y = JUMP_HEIGHT
            input_vector.y = 1
        if friction == true:
            motion.x = lerp(motion.x, 0, 0.2)
    else:
        if friction == true:
             motion.x = lerp(motion.x, 0, 0.05)

_attack()

func _attack():
    if Input.is_action_just_pressed("ui_accept"):
        $AttackArea/CollisionShape2D.disabled = false