00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

OpSystemFilms just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

"Poop (on)" in kids' entertainment

192 Views | 3 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hello. I'm a cartoonist and writer and I want to produce cartoons and comics for kids.

I have a character I created who is a buzzkill- he's a perpetual troublemaker who likes to cause trouble for others. He tells others he wants to "poop on their parades".

Is this acceptable? Can you use terms like "poop" or phrases like "poop on" in a kids' cartoon or comic?

I originally wanted the character to say he wants to "crap on people's parades", because I thought that sounded funnier, but then I realized "crap on" wouldn't be acceptable in a kids' cartoon or comic- that would be construed as a vulgarism.

I would like to think you can use "poop" or "poop on"- people say "party pooper" in kids'/family/all-age entertainment.

Please help- thank you.

Response to "Poop (on)" in kids' entertainment 2019-03-28 22:49:11

Like mentioned before the use of the word depends on the age of the child. Someone 5 years and under is only going to understand poop as one thing, the stuff their tummy turns food into.

If you're audience was 8-10 year olds the potty humor would be more appropriate.

At 3/28/19 10:49 PM, Fro wrote: Like mentioned before the use of the word depends on the age of the child. Someone 5 years and under is only going to understand poop as one thing, the stuff their tummy turns food into.

If you're audience was 8-10 year olds the potty humor would be more appropriate.

I want to produce entertainment that appeals to all ages but I don't want to do something babyish. That's going to turn older audiences off.

I said this before, but apparently you missed it: