00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Thatgooner just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

"Poop (on)" in kids' entertainment

302 Views | 10 Replies

I'm a cartoonist and writer and I want to produce cartoons and comics for kids.

I have a character I created who is a buzzkill- he's a perpetual troublemaker who likes to cause trouble for others. He tells others he wants to "poop on their parades".

Is this acceptable? Can you use terms like "poop" or phrases like "poop on" in a kids' cartoon or comic?

I originally wanted the character to say he wants to "crap on people's parades", because I thought that sounded funnier, but then I realized "crap on" wouldn't be acceptable in a kids' cartoon or comic- that would be construed as a vulgarism.

I would like to think you can use "poop" or "poop on"- people say "party pooper" in kids'/family/all-age entertainment.

Please help- thank you.

Response to "Poop (on)" in kids' entertainment 2019-03-28 02:30:38

iu_15747_2594597.gif

BBS Signature

Response to "Poop (on)" in kids' entertainment 2019-03-28 10:01:59

At 3/28/19 02:30 AM, Gremlin wrote: ...

I was serious when I posted this thread.

Response to "Poop (on)" in kids' entertainment 2019-03-28 12:16:09

Are there any writers here who care to chime in on this thread?

Is my thread in the right place?

Response to "Poop (on)" in kids' entertainment 2019-03-28 12:54:49

I'd think for young kids, yeah that's still too vulgar. They like poop jokes but that's figurative language/metaphorical etc. They may not even get it.

What age group you lookin at?

| It is possible to commit no mistakes and still lose|||Love belongs to Desire, and Desire is always cruel.||||

BBS Signature

Response to "Poop (on)" in kids' entertainment 2019-03-28 14:12:02