00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

lucidstriker595 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Adobe Illustrator questions

885 Views | 15 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Adobe Illustrator questions 2013-03-19 12:14:12

with consent of Renaenae I am starting this thread dedicated to adobe illustrator questions. Ill probably be active here the coming few days, and I will also try to answer my own questions when I find get them from another source. It seems that information on illustrator is more scarce then, for example, photoshop, so hence this topic.

I am new to illustrator and am a bit baffled that my PS experience means nothing.

--dont forget to mention your AI version--

God invented evolution 'cause he couldn't do it all by himself! Awesome Tees!

BBS Signature

Response to Adobe Illustrator questions 2013-03-19 12:16:19

argh! There is this thingy I cant figure out. I find it way more difficult to find info online on illustrator compared to PS.
I am using image trace to convert png (and psd) files to vectors. Very simple and effective, but to keep a transparent background I have to select "ignore white". only some of the files I want to convert include white outer linings that I want to keep in the vector. If I select 'ignore white' those lines will be removed, but if I dont select 'ignore white' illustrator will fill the (previously transparent) background with all white.

I tried using invert colors then image trace and invert back, but this isnt applicable when you also have black in it (since it will go white).

Since I have to do this trick a few times, I really wanna know the solution to this. Its sound so obvious, but I cannot find an answer anywhere.

---

At 3/19/13 11:23 AM, ReNaeNae wrote:
if I dont select 'ignore white' illustrator will fill the (previously transparent) background with all white.