00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Care2mchBEAR just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Difference between Mixing/Mastering

1,871 Views | 27 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hello everyone.. I've been producing for 3 years but I still don't even know what the difference is between Mixing & Mastering and how they work respectively.. Any good information you can provide for me?

Response to Difference between Mixing/Mastering 2012-11-09 15:21:37

If I recall correctly, mixing means adding special effects and various effects to the tracks.
Mastering is in a more general way the final part of the production. Like where you make sure everything is correct, the level of volume, all the tracks are ok, etc.

Wait for a more detailed answer btw

SUCK MY KICK

Response to Difference between Mixing/Mastering 2012-11-09 15:52:18

They are used a bit interchangeably (many people mistake mastering for mixing) so you'll usually have to look at the context to see what people mean by the two terms.

But you know you're still doing the mixing when you're still adjusting the individual tracks. That means making sure they sound the way you want them to sound, that they are in balance with each other, that the frequency and stereo spectra are acceptable, and that the whole song has a coherent and cohesive sound overall. It's the final stage of the production.

Mastering is what you do when you're done with that, so you could call it post-production. When you're mastering audio you are making sure it sounds good when played back in the intended context. If you're mastering a film soundtrack you will have different concerns than if you're mastering a set of songs for an album, if you're preparing a single for radio playback.