00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

s4kuna just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

How do you process your guitar?

1,179 Views | 23 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

How do you process your guitar? 2009-05-03 11:43:10

I realized yesterday that all of my recorded guitar samples sound like there is a either a wet towel on them or there is no tight, awesome punch to them.

I should know this type of thing by now since I have been recording for like 6 years but I don't so let's just assume that I don't know ANYTHING.

I am playing a Ibanez Prestige into a BBE Sonic Maximizer Pedal, and a BOSS Metal Zone, from there into a
Marshall stack, running a line from the emulated line out in my amp into a Alesis Multimix Firewire 8.

I record at 48,000Khz at 24-bits.

As far as software sampling I don't know much about it but I do a little bit of EQ.

I don't think my problem lies in my hardware since all of it is pretty decent. Sure, the firewire interface I have isn't THAT great but I don't blame it for making everything sound lame.

I want to know how to process my guitar samples to get that TIGHT, and FULL feeling. (Let's assume all I play is metal)

Thanks for yout input.

Response to How do you process your guitar? 2009-05-03 11:45:03

QUICK UPDATE:\

Here is a sound sample if you wan't to critique my sound quality.

Response to How do you process your guitar? 2009-05-03 12:39:36

For NG usual stuff your quality is quite ok.
My opinion is that your EQ-ing lacks mid frequencies, especially mid-high and that make the sound lifeless. As much as a guitar player you like the "scooped" sound, with a lot of bass, even if that sounds good near the amp, in the mix that will get muddy and cover frequencies of other instruments.