Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


ArticKillerArticKiller

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 14, 2013

I'm going to be brutally honest with you, this work is just saying "wake up sheeple" in a kind tone that sill retains just a hint of condescending attitude, just a hint though. While phone addiction is a problem, it's not an issue that everyone suffers from, and I do believe that comparison to the crack addict has something to do with the study that shows how a social media junkie's brain looks the same as a crack junkie's brain under an MRI, but then again, nobody really knows what that truly means. After all, social media addiction certainly doesn't have the same direct physiological effects of a cocaine addiction, and the average person who hears about that study probably has no idea as to what to do with an MRI scan. Your point isn't necessarily bad, you just take it too far and present it in a fasion that just says "wake up sheeple!"

Also, is this some kind of a joke, because at the end of the video, you give us a like on Facebook button, a follow on twitter button, and a plus one button for google plus [insert generic and badly thought out joke about google plus's complete lack of people who are on it here (what do you expect, I don't right my own comedy)]


People find this review helpful!

JooniqueJoonique

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 5, 2013

Maybe it was a bit too harsh and presented only from the extreme view, but yes it annoys me that everything seems to be happening on FB, and if you are not a frequent user of FB then you miss a lot of things because all the people who are close to you prefer to share their thoughts mostly on FB.


People find this review helpful!

EnticeEntice

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 21, 2013

The message was the preachiest bullshit I've ever heard in my life, but I can't in good conscience give you a bad you a bad rating for the effort that was put into the animation/voice acting.

Honestly you wasted it though, just another person using media to complain about other people using media.



KwingKwing

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 10, 2013

You've got a good start here, but there's so much missing. I like your voice actor and your dialogue. Your art and animation is even pretty good - not perfect, but for the style you're going for I like it the way it is. My biggest issue is that it ends too soon. You talk about only one small segment of what social media has done, when your animation is just opening up for an entire slew of commentaries on the way we live.

You're also only covering one small demographic of people who use social media constantly. To be fair, I don't use Facebook frequently, nor do I bother keeping connecting with people for the most part, but there are a large amount of people already aware at how pointless social media has become.

This needs to be a lot longer.


People find this review helpful!

corac619corac619

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 6, 2013

Sure, animation could use some work but otherwise it's nice.And yeah, I keep wondering how much has facebook, twitter or whatever scocial media you are using has become a part of or life.So much, that when I see someone with a "smart" - phone they are almost always in facebook and I also keep wondering - what the hell is so awesome about facebook?i made an account and what?you play a bunch of stupid daily games?Or you keep track of when people fart and when they eat?We can do all this stuff face-to-face.And my e-mail is full of useless stuff like "Do you know Pesho from Varna?"I've never been to varna(it's in bulgaria).How can I know this guy?and please, would someone explain me why is the "social media" so addictive?I have 4 friends(everyone else around me have at least 10) and I should feel alone?any way, you can ignore the mindless stuff al in all great movie/message.


People find this review helpful!