Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2013 | 10:46 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 9, 2013
  • Daily Feature October 7, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

"The Social Media Generation"

This is an adaptation from the original comic "Marc Maron: The social media generation" by Zen Pencils.
http://zenpencils.com/comic/129-marc-maron-the-social-media-generation/

The script used in that comic is a quote from Marc Maron's book "Attempting Normal".

This animation is also available on youtube in HD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGU8yjjJXD8

Enjoy! :)

Reviews


haXedhaXed

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 9, 2013

Very interesting.



belthagorbelthagor

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2013

Perfect animation and depiction



DirkdarkphoenixDirkdarkphoenix

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2013

Why am I thinking of Alan Wake? The narration?

Anyway, I'm not in fb or twitter or in anything, and it makes me feel like a bad person. Unperson.


People find this review helpful!

PuffStuffPuffStuff

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2013

We live in an egocentric world. Even this post has some merit in saying "Oh boy, I hope someone likes this!" and well, deleting every one of those socai media things like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram; I think society is better off without these things in some way.

You wait for that one like, and you feel like your on top, but it's like... a horrible addiction. Everyone who post something that seems intelligent and "catchy" does it for a chance to boost their ego. People just makes sure in hoping were on the same side of some retarded battle of, I dunno, any kind of opinion.

All in all, the animation speaks for itself. Really... the guy shooting himself with what I assume heroin I guess was no better off than the dude on his phone. The creepy smile, the position he sits, his entire position honestly labels it well enough. You could see the same person.

Social Media drains you as a person. It voids a lot of emotion and care, like a drug even. It's deteriorating human contact and well...

Enough of that, animation earns all five. Short and powerful, great animation, clever use of scenerio.


People find this review helpful!

Twosocks42Twosocks42

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2013

Been following Zen pencils for a while and this was one of my favorite comics put up by Gav. I appreciate seeing it make the rounds in other places. Nice job on the animation. :)