Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 26, 2013 | 6:52 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature June 28, 2013
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 3, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A short film made with 3DS MAX, Adobe After Effects and Adobe Premiere. Just enjoy it !

I wanted to work on men alienated by society as well as religion :)

So, I created a society based on a simple structure : A people of equal individuals ruled by a superior power.

The essence of this alienation is the fluid which serves as a unique resource.
This divinity is meant to appear as a combination of religion and royalty.
The people is composed of blissful characters, moving in a shimmering forest.
However, this setting is an illusion: their divinity injected a fluid which makes them all blissful: that's why they see the world in colour...
Blissful people are in an illusion they make themselves, and they trust in it.

Youtube Link : youtube.com/watch?v=FQDmt c5pN0Q

Reviews


fireman3214567fireman3214567

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 16, 2013

in the begining I was like ohhh its a happy place. but when I saw the real place I was like 0_0 the whole time.



MDudeMDude

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 15, 2013

Visually great, and an interesting setting. It seems to leave quite a few loose ends for how simple it is, though given the nature of the story it's fitting that I'm left with things to remain curious about. For instance, it was clear from the start that the people are serving a big four-armed guy by cleaning wild floaty critters off of big glowing balls and feeding them to him, and once the illusion was removed all that seems to remain true. So while a sudden change in the appearance of the world and apparent revelation of deception would understandably be distressing in and of itself, some guy who sits around eating spheres isn't more harmful just because he has a scary face. The way the divinity reacts to servants seeing through the illusion seems more telling. It makes me curious what other things this divinity gets up to, and what the protagonist would do if his revelation went unnoticed longer.

Also of note is the fact that the people themselves are apparently what they seem to be in the illusion, just with screens in front of them. So I guess they're a creature that isn't native to that kind of environment? Their history seems to be a rather crucial yet missing element, though I presume they were displaced or invaded in some way. That the divinity would choose to have such colorful, non-threatening servants seems odd as well. Is owning these guys considered a source of status or at least a respectable enterprise among his own kind, or is he some kind of outcast forced to live in the woods and use lesser slaves? I'm also not sure if the tower seen while the divinity is briefly inactive is the structure the divinity was sitting on earlier or a larger, more distant one. In the latter case, I wonder who lives there and how those with bliss perceive it.


People find this review helpful!

smarty54242smarty54242

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2013

That was deep man.



jawaiahjawaiah

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2013

Allest mein feifven aer belongkingkst to this.



spirit9871spirit9871

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 13, 2013

Woooow~!

I'm glad I saw this movie when I could. It always kept calling me out on the featured page, so I guess not writing a review would be a bit of a sin here.

My reactions were seriously mixed in this movie. It was seriously insane. At first, I was: "Ugh, some stupid fluffy bullshit.", but then, I was: "Whoa, wtf? This shit is getting interesting!", After that: "Oh shit's gonna get real!", Then: "Fuck yeah! Great job little buddy!" And finally: "...You've got to be shitting me."

...Ahem, now then, the review:

Pros:
-Beautiful + smooth animation
-Deep yet simple message: "IGNORANCE IS BLISS". Got it after the first time.
-The twists kept me interested and hung me on the movie.
-The ending really got to me. These 5 stars are for your freedom little man, stay strong.

Cons:
-...The only con I could find was that the setting was getting boring. But then again, that wouldn't make sense as to why I'd penalize you for it; there was no way you could change the setting in a storyline like this one.

...So yeah! Amazing movie; wished I could've watched it sooner! Great job to the author! Keep animating and inspire more people to make stuff like this! :)

Peace.

~Spirit9871


People find this review helpful!