Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 2, 2013 | 6:44 PM EST
  • Daily Feature March 4, 2013
  • Weekly 4th Place March 6, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

The Ghost Pianist

A 3D piano duel between two ghost pianists that represents the legends Frederic Chopin and Ludwig Van Beethoven.
This project took 3 months of work.

The funny thing about this is that I animated the characters playing the exact keys for all three songs, but turned out that I wanted to focus more on the characters face than the piano keys. So I spent 2 weeks animating every key and barley showed it. Created in: 3D Studio Max

Music by: Kework Der Stepanian
Full version of the first song can be found at:
http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=fpObI0ViwtI

Vivi anyone? ^^

www.AlldinDauti.com

Reviews


WeirdokidontheblockWeirdokidontheblock

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 4, 2013

Short but amazing.



LeoverdommeLeoverdomme

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 4, 2013

Nice work, renders are amazing.

Keep working on your animation tought.



DANNYD99DANNYD99

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 4, 2013

Even though I agree it may have needed more story, This still earns my full 5 stars. This is the kind of animation you would expect from pixar, and speaking off, this actually feels like one of their shorts. You have a bright future ahead of you sir, and I look forward toward your next animation.


People find this review helpful!

HareTrinityHareTrinity

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 4, 2013

Amazing animation but some more story would have been nice! Even a small paragraph or a couple of comic panels to let us know why the pair are there (and maybe where that is)?

I'd kind of like to see the piano playing too (until I read the desc I thought the vid was avoiding it to be lazy)! Maybe split screens would have worked to give us both the expressions and the piano playing?



Trace400Trace400

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 4, 2013

The animation was very nice. I would have liked to see more of a duel, with both pianists taking turns playing, each with a distinct sound, but ones that fit well together, and it would've gotten faster and faster until eventually there was a victor. As it is, it seems like the dark pianist is only briefly interrupting the other one's play session, after which he is quickly defeated, more of a minor annoyance that is quickly forgotten, like forgetting where your keys are, or getting a paper cut that must be bandaged.

I can't really complain much, though, because if it took three months to make this, making a fairly lengthy duel is not really practical for one person, without sacrificing some quality. Looking over my review, I see I only briefly mentioned the animation quality in a five-letter sentence at the beginning. I really, really loved the animation in this, and I can't imagine how one person could manage it. Seriously, it's gorgeous.


People find this review helpful!